Top Ten Tuesday ~ Book Food

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday! Yay!

Top Ten Yummy Foods Mentioned In Books (Does a character eat something you’d love? Or maybe the book takes place in a bakery/restaurant that makes yummy things? You could also talk about 10 of your favorite cookbooks if you don’t read foody books.)

Hmm. I have a huge suspicion that Harry Potter foods are going to come up on these lists a LOT. I will admit, that’s the first set of book food that came to my mind. I have plenty of other book food items on my list too, but there will be at least a little Harry Potter food mentioned. Especially since I have been to the Harry Potter section of Universal Studios, and so have tasted something that approximates the food from the books. (Butterbeer. Yum. Especially the hot version.)

Okay, anyway, on with the list:

Top Ten Yummy Foods Mentioned in Books

  1. Butterbeer (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling) ~ I can’t help it. This will probably be on more lists than any other book food this week, but I’ve had butterbeer. And it’s so good.
  2. Lembas (Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien) ~ Long before I wanted to try any of the foods in the Potter books, I was drooling over the idea of lembas. It didn’t hurt that when I was young we did a lot of camping and backpacking. The idea of a food that tasted good and wouldn’t take up tons of space in our backpacks was really appealing.
  3. Butter chicken (The Case of the Deadly Butter Chicken by Tarquin Hall) ~ I haven’t read this book yet (it’s on my TBR list) but I have made butter chicken. I love that dish, which is why I was drawn to this book in the first place.
  4. Hot chocolate (Sorcery and Cecelia: or the enchanted chocolate pot by Patricia Wrede and Carolyn Stevermer) ~ I love good hot chocolate. This was described as good chocolate, and served in a pretty set. And it turned out that the chocolate itself wasn’t even poisoned. Sounds perfect!
  5. Bakery goodies! (Wishcraft Mystery series by Heather Blake) ~ The magical people in this series each have a specialty. One of the characters can do magic with baked goods. I want to eat cookies made at that bakery. Yum.
  6. Klah (Pern series by Anne McCaffrey) ~ Klah is described as something that sounds like a cross between coffee and chai and cinnamon tea. It sounds fascinating, and I want to try it.
  7. Bubbly Pies (Pern series by Anne McCaffrey) ~ I loved baked goods, and these sound amazing – especially when piping hot.
  8. Pretty much anything from a Hobbit’s larder (The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien) ~ I’m not picky. It all sounded good (except the mushrooms).
  9. Brownies (Brownies and Broomsticks by Bailey Cates) ~ This is a “Magical Bakery Mystery.” So again – magical baked goods? Yes please! (As long as they aren’t designed to hurt me, which these aren’t.)
  10. Atticus’ teas (The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne) ~ Teas which stop aging and provide general well-being? Yes please!

Well, that’s my 10! What about you? Do you have any favorites that I’ve missed?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday ~ Book Food

  1. Jaime says:

    I thought about adding Butterbeer to my list as well, but I’ve had some versions of it and sadly haven’t been a fan. (I apparently don’t like butterscotch and cream soda?) But yes to lembas bread and Bilbo’s larder. Also, just think about what the elves’ feast might have been like if the dwarves had been able to eat!

    • Nicole says:

      Oh, good point! The if the elven travel bread is so good, what would their formal feasts be like?

      I don’t like cream soda, but I do like butterscotch, so Butterbeer works for me. I don’t think I could drink as much of it as they describe the kids having in the books, though.

  2. A meal at Hogwarts would be the best meal ever!

  3. Atticus’s teas! Glad to see The Iron Druid Chronicles made your list! 🙂

    Lauren @ Always Me

  4. Butterbeer for sure! Although I don’t like the recipe that contains soda. I found another recipe, that I like much more, although it’s probably the unhealthiest one I’ve ever seen! It contains butter, sugar, milk, vanilla essence and cinnamon^^Nice treat for cold afternoons!

    I take those teas as well, please 😀

  5. kmkat says:

    There is a LOT of food mentioned in the Song of Ice and Fire series, aka Game of Thrones. In fact, there used to be website devoted to creating the recipes for that food. The books got me to think of bread, cheese, and olives as a great snack (with wine, of course).

    • Nicole says:

      I’ve heard other people talk about the GOT food, but I haven’t read the books so I didn’t think of those. Bread and cheese with wine are a great snack! (I don’t personally like olives, though, so you can have mine.)

Leave a Reply

