Misc Monday ~ in which there is a surprise FO

I have another knitting project that I haven’t mentioned on the blog yet. Since I forgot a WIP Wednesday in there, and this was a very fast knit, this particular project was an FO already by the time last week’s WIP post came around. Instead of adding it to that post, I decided to give it its own blog.

Without further ado, I present to you:

the Manly Mitts

Yeah, okay, the name is a bit silly. But that’s what the pattern is called, so there you go. The plan for these is to give them as a Christmas gift, but I might get too attached to them in the meantime. We’ll have to see.

I used Knit Picks Capra in Burnished for these. I didn’t knit the cuff ribbing as long as I could have, because I was concerned about running out of yarn, but I ended up with plenty leftover and should have knit the full 2 inches of cuff ribbing that was called for. Oh well. It doesn’t bother me enough to rip them out and start over. (Besides, the knitting gods being the way they are, doing that would guarantee that I’d run out of yarn on the second attempt.)

This was a really easy pattern, so I might make another pair. Regardless of the pattern name calling them “manly” mitts, I didn’t see anything about them that specifies a gender. I was looking for a good unisex pattern, and I think this is one of them. As long as you can get past the pattern name.

Capra is a lovely yarn. I can’t get over how much I love this yarn every time I knit something from it. And yet I haven’t ever made something for ME from it. I think it’s time to fix that. (Which is another reason why I might keep these mitts.)

Leave a Reply

