WIP Wednesday for October 11, 2017

Believe it or not, there’s not much on the needles for me right now. I have a pair of gift mitts, a pair of gift socks, a pair of socks for me, and the GAL blanket. And that’s it. Weird.

So we’ll just start right in with the pictures! Here is the progress on the socks for me, the Minecraft Socks:

I really like these, and decided that I want to keep them. (I wasn’t sure initially if they would be for me or for a gift.) One of the things that won me over was the yarn. Soft and squishy, and yet it still feels like it will hold up as socks.

And then the gift socks:

These are the Vanilla Latte socks, and they’re just waiting on a fitting before I either start the toe, keep knitting, or rip back to the place where I should have started the toe. We’ll see. I do like them too, and I love the yarn (Knit Picks Felici), so I may knit myself another pair later. They are a wonderful combination of simple yet not-boring which is great to find in a sock pattern.

And then the mitts:

This pattern is Seeta Fingerless Gloves, and it says it’s based on the Leyburn sock pattern (which I have also knit). I really liked the Leyburn socks, so it’s no surprise that I wanted to knit these mitts, too. So far so good, but I’m hoping to get them to a good point for a fitting by this weekend. They aren’t for anyone close-by, but I’ll be visiting someone this weekend with a similar-sized hand, so I can get a good guess at whether they’ll fit the recipient.

And no picture of the GAL blanket right now. I’ll get more work done on this soon, but I keep finding more things I can knit for gifts, and so I keep procrastinating it. I’m considering doing another year of no knitted gifts next year, which would give me plenty of time to knit things for me. But… we’ll see. I love giving things I’ve made to people who appreciate them, so I may knit presents again next year. Or maybe I’ll sew gifts instead… hmm. Options, but I have plenty of time to make that decision.

Have a great rest of the week!

