Friday Reads ~ 2017 Reading Challenge Update

We’re into the end of the third quarter of the year now, so instead of another weekly post about what I’m currently reading (you’ll get another one of those next week, probably) I thought it was a good time to do a look at where I am with my 2017 Reading Challenge Goals.

You may recall that I had two goals for this year:

  1. Read 75% new books
  2. Read 10 Cat Mystery books

I also have a book quantity goal listed on Goodreads, but that’s not something I am tracking here. In any case, how am I doing on my challenge goals?

Read 75% new books

I have read a total of 49 books so far this year. (This total is not counting short stories. I know that Goodreads counts them, but I am not tracking them here.)

Only 8 of these 49 books have been ones I’ve read before, so that means 83.67% of my books this year (so far) have been new books. I’d say I’m doing very well on that part of the challenge!

Read 10 Cat Mystery books

I have read 6 cat mystery books so far this year. 2 more have been checked out of the library and 1 more is on my TBR pile. If I finish all of those, that’s a total of 9. I’ll still need to pick up one more, but that seems doable. I just need to stay interested in cat mysteries…

I think I’m in a good place to succeed at my challenge this year. It’s nice to know that I can set reasonable goals for myself when I try. (Last year’s reading challenge forced me to think about what exactly defined “reasonable”…)

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads ~ 2017 Reading Challenge Update

  1. Nicole- 49 books is nothing to sniff at. Good for you!

  2. mrspao says:

    Do you know the Cat in the Stacks series?

Leave a Reply

