WIP Weds ~ in which there is shawl progress

Remember when I mentioned casting on a new shawl due to having some waiting room time and wanting an easy project to keep my attention? Well, here is the progress on that shawl:

This is approximately one week’s worth of knitting time on the shawl. It’s been a lot of fun to work on.

The shawl in question is Reyna, by Noora Laivola, and I’m knitting it in Queensland Uluru. I got the yarn from a friend’s destash; I loved the color and halo, but wasn’t sure about the yarn content. (It’s a cotton-acrylic-polyester blend, and I don’t think I’ve knit with anything like it before.) Well, I love working with it, too.

There has been other knitting, too. There’s been a row or two of GAL square progress, but I don’t have any pics of that (since there wouldn’t be much to see, anyway.) There has also been more work on the Vanilla is the New Black socks:

Very nearly to the toe decreases for this one, and then it’s all over but the Kitchner.

The VitNB socks are another gift for this year, and I may also give the Reyna shawl as a gift. (It depends on whether I like it too much to give up, even though it would be given to a local family member so I would still get to see it.) I am glad that this year I’ve gotten A LOT more of my gift knitting done early than usual, but I also want to work on something for me.

Maybe when Reyna is done I’ll pull out the East of the Sun, West of the Moon beaded shawl I have in progress for myself, and work on that. The rows are long, but it’s a very fulfilling knit as well. And I still haven’t decided who the Minecraft socks are for. (I don’t have too long to figure that out. I want to work on those after I’m done with the Vanilla is the New Black socks, so I’ll need to decide soon.)

Have a great rest of the week!

6 thoughts on “WIP Weds ~ in which there is shawl progress

  1. jo creates says:

    I love the colour of that yarn in the shawl. it’s going to look really lovely when it’s done! 😊

  2. Chris says:

    Perfect yarn for the shawl – lucky niece! 🙂

Leave a Reply

