Top Ten Tuesday ~ Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Let’s do another Top Ten Tuesday! They’re still on hiatus until August 15th, so we’re going to revisit an old topic, Top Ten Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would. I’m going to try to give five of each… we’ll see how that goes.

One note on these… in general, these books will be relatively recent reads. This is not because I’ve never read anything that was surprisingly good or surprisingly bad before this year. It’s only because the recent reads are fresher in my mind, and so are what I think of first.

Books I liked MORE then expected:

  1. NPCs by Drew HayesI expected to enjoy this book. I ended up loving it; I think it’s my favorite read of 2017 so far.
  2. Norse Mythology by Neil GaimanI picked this one up expecting it to be a less-dry-than-usual mythology book. Instead, Gaiman wrote this to read more like fiction than mythology, and yet still be myth.
  3. Glitter & Mayhem anthology of short storiesWhen I snagged this ebook, I thought I’d like the story I bought it for, and that’s about it. I didn’t expect to enjoy many of the other stories, and so I was thrilled when I did.
  4. A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeline L’EngleI know I read this book when I was younger… or at least, I know I started to read this book. I always considered it my least favorite of the Time Trilogy (which is now the Time Quintet) because I couldn’t remember the ending. I suspect now that I never got that far. In any case, I re-read it last year because I’d already re-read A Wrinkle in Time and A Wind in the Door, so I figured I might as well finish out the set. And I really liked it this time around! So glad I picked it up!
  5. City of the Lost by Kelley ArmstrongI really like Armstrong’s urban fantasy novels, but I haven’t enjoyed her thrillers much before. I picked this one up because Armstrong has finished her paranormal series, and so I decided to give this new suspense-thriller series a chance. I liked it so much more than I expected! This series is now on my “to read” list as soon as a new book gets announced.

Books I liked LESS than expected:

  1. The Diabolical Miss Hyde by Viola CarrI wanted to love this book, I really did. Instead I barely liked it.
  2. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules VerneI knew this would be written in something other than the modern style, but I still expected it to be READABLE. I didn’t expect a listing of different types of fish instead of an actual adventure novel. (DNF)
  3. The Seventh Bride by T. KingfisherTo be fair, most of what I enjoyed less than expected about this book was the narration. In order to make her main character sound as young as appropriate, the narrator’s other characters all sounded a bit out of place.
  4. Nozy Cat #1 by Lyn KeyI can’t speak to the actual plot in this case. I couldn’t get past the writing style in order to enjoy what sounded like a good premise and fun characters. YMMV, and if you enjoy this writing style more power to you… but it wasn’t for me. (DNF)
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. LewisOkay, not one book in this case, but seven. I grew up LOVING this series. Absolutely adoring them. I wanted to go to Narnia. I wanted to be Queen Susan. So imagine my surprise (and horror) when, this time around, I was a bit turned off by reading them. They weren’t as fun as they were supposed to be. The books had a lot more less-nice stuff than I remembered. (And not the intentional less-nice stuff like war and betrayal. The unintentional less-nice stuff like sexism and racism.) I’m not sure I will be able to re-read these again any time soon, if ever. I’ll just remember that I loved them once, and that they didn’t age as well as I’d hoped, and maybe I can leave it at that.
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday ~ Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Chris says:

    Still agog over 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea! I wonder what readers from Vernes’ day would think of our modern books?!

Leave a Reply

