WIP Wednesday ~ in which it’s all about that GAL*

Okay, it hasn’t been all Geek-A-Long knitting this week. There has also been Reyna, and the Vanilla is the New Black socks. But all I’m going to talk about this week is the Geek-A-Long blanket.

2016 GAL Blanket Progress

The 2016 GAL blanket (per the official GAL rules) is technically 24 squares. I have knit 21 squares, and am on my 22nd. That means I’m about 88% done with the official blanket. However, since my blanket is knit with smaller yarn, it will be a smaller blanket than the official one. Also, since the official 2016 GAL is over, it doesn’t matter if I make my blanket to the official size.

Another thing I have to consider is that I am including more than just video game squares in my 2016 GAL blanket. (The 2016 theme was video games, for anyone who isn’t aware.) And as such, I have all of the 2017 squares (superheroes) and the 2014 squares (general geeky themes) to choose from. I could even use the 2015 squares if I can find some that are easy to adjust in size. (The 2015 squares were a different size.) And if I wait too long, I’ll likely have 2018 squares as well. So, that leaves me with a bunch of options and I’m not likely to want to leave any favorites out. I currently have at least 15 squares on my radar as possible inclusions to this blanket.

2016 GAL Blanket Progress

But… I would like to eventually finish it, and not leave this as a perpetual, never-ending project. In fact, finishing the GAL blanket is one of my goals for the 101 in 1001 Challenge I’m in the middle of, so I’ve set myself a goal of finishing it by 4/8/2019. That means I have to start looking at how big I truly want this to be, so that I can determine whether or not I’m on track for finishing it by spring of 2019.

I know for sure that I want to add at least one more row and one more column. That would be a total of 30 squares, meaning I’d have 8 3/4 squares left to knit. I’m not sure that’s enough. I am thinking that this will be a sofa lap blanket, so maybe one more column and two more rows? Meaning 35 squares total, or 13 3/4 more. I think that might be a good size. I will also eventually have to decide on orientation – aka is the top of the blanket the shorter side or the longer side? – but that is a decision which can wait for later.

2016 GAL Blanket Progress

*Yes, this did make me think of the song “All About That Bass”. However, not the original version. I didn’t think much of the song one way or the other until I heard the Postmodern Jukebox version, which I love. If you haven’t seen that one yet, you can find one take of it here (they have different casts, so sometimes songs get repeated), and it is awesome.

One thought on “WIP Wednesday ~ in which it’s all about that GAL*

  1. Chris says:

    It is going to be AMAZING, whatever size you decide to make it!

Leave a Reply

