Top Ten Tuesdays ~ Best Books You’ve Read in 2017

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you know I used to participate in the Ten on Tuesdays. That was a lot of fun, but eventually Carole decided it was too much work to do weekly, and it turned into a monthly blog prompt. (I don’t blame her. That’s a lot of work for one person to maintain.)

And then I started following Zuky the BookBum, and found out about the Top Ten Tuesdays. This is hosted by a team of people, so it sounds more sustainable, and it also seems to be book-focused (which fits my preferences nicely). In any case, I think I’m going to participate in the TTT for a while. Now: they are on a hiatus until August 15th, but there are plenty of past topics I can cover until then. Also, one or more of the topics might not spark any ideas for me, so once they have started up their weekly topics again I might either skip a week or do a previous prompt instead. It sounds like fun.

The prompt for June 27 – the most recent one listed – is: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far. They specify that you can break this out however you want, so what I’m going to do is this:

  • Review my list of books read, starting with the most recently completed
  • Start with books released this year, then move on to books from last year, etc
  • List books that I enjoyed – they are not in order of my favorites, but in the order mentioned above

This means that I’m not picking my favorites here, just listing ten books from this year which I enjoyed. (And if I haven’t read ten 2017 books that I enjoyed, then at least they’ll still be recent releases.)

  1. Down Among the Sticks & Bones – Seanan McGuire (2017 release)
  2. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry – Neil deGrasse Tyson (2017)
  3. Norse Mythology – Neil Gaiman (2017)
  4. A Darkness Absolute – Kelley Armstrong (2017)
  5. Every Heart a Doorway – Seanan McGuire (2016)
  6. In Shining Armor – Elliott James (2016)
  7. Project Elfhome – Wen Spencer (2016)
  8. The Princess Diarist – Carrie Fisher (2016)
  9. NPCs – Drew Hayes (2014)
  10. Half-Off Ragnarok – Seanan McGuire (2014)

(Hmm. I do seem to be on a Seanan McGuire kick, don’t I? Well, she’s a good author, and very prolific, so I can’t say I’m surprised.)

Sound like fun? Feel free to join us! The Top Ten Tuesday prompts and guidelines are all listed on their site.

Leave a Reply

