101 in 1001 ~ update the twelfth

It’s time for the 12th update on my 101 in 1001 Challenge! If you haven’t been following along on this journey so far or have any questions about what the challenge is, you can check out this link for details.

It’s June! Officially summertime in the Northern Hemisphere. I’m not sure I’m entirely happy about that, but there you are. I tend to prefer spring and fall, but here in my part of California our springs and falls are shortened a bit by summer encroaching on either side. (I can’t imagine places that are warmer still than we are. Some Facebook friends in Vegas and Arizona talk about their weather, and I just shudder.)

But like it or not, it’s sunny and (mostly) warm! (This has been a really weird year for weather.) And I do like our summers, I’m just never ready for them to start. Oh well. Start it has!

Here’s this month’s challenge progress:

June 2017
3 items completed this month (& 1 cancelled)
29 items currently in progress

~*~     ~*~     ~*~

Personal #69: Watch 5 documentaries ~ 6/2/2017

I watched these over the span of a few months, and enjoyed them all. (Some more than others, obviously.) I watched: Atari: Game Over; Minecraft: The Story of Mojang; For the Love of Spock; Back In Time; and Waking Sleeping Beauty. Of them, I would recommend them all if you are into the subject matter. For instance, if you like the “Back to the Future” trilogy, you’d probably enjoy Back In Time. If you play Minecraft or enjoy hearing about video game developers, you’d probably like Minecraft: The Story of Mojang. However, if you don’t have an interest in those, you probably wouldn’t get much out of them.

The two I think I would recommend universally, however (and my two favorites), are For the Love of Spock and Waking Sleeping Beauty. Both of those seem to me to have a more general appeal, even though they are still about specific topics which some people will enjoy more than others. It’s hard, however, to imagine someone in modern culture who doesn’t know who Spock is, or who hasn’t seen a movie from the Disney Animation Renaissance (Little Mermaid, Beauty & the Beast, Lion King, etc). For both of these, though, be warned. I needed Kleenex.

Arts & Crafts #15: Needle felt at least one project – CANCELLED

I am cancelling this one. I’ve decided I’m just not interested in continuing this hobby, so I’m giving my supplies (the ones worth keeping) to my sister, who still enjoys needle felting. And instead I’m going to focus on the hobbies I do enjoy: knitting, crocheting, and sewing. I may even get back into cross stitching, if I end up with extra craft time. (Unlikely, but I suppose it’s possible…)

Health #49: Use Invisalign to get my teeth straight ~ 6/19/2017

All done! I’m still supposed to wear the aligners all the time for 3-4 months, but the part where the teeth are moving is done. Now it’s just maintenance and retainer wear. Yay!

Arts & Crafts #10: Go through needle felting supplies and get rid of what I won’t use ~ 6/29/2017

I got this one in just under the wire! After deciding that I wasn’t going to continue with needle felting, it was just a matter of pulling all my felting supplies out and setting them aside. And since I know someone else who is going to keep needle felting, I was able to give the stuff to her to do with as she pleases. (I realize that not everyone has the same taste, so some of the things I thought would make good projects might be things she has no interest in. But I’m leaving that choice up to her.)

~*~     ~*~     ~*~

There are a couple more items that are that close to being done, but aren’t yet. Still, getting three items completed this month isn’t bad progress at all. It does bring me to a total of 28 challenge items complete (with 2 more being sent to the “incomplete” list). Essentially 28% complete (or 30% accounted for, if you include the incomplete list ones) with just under a year over (and about a year and a half left to go). Not bad! I especially think it’s not bad since several of the items are close to being complete, and several others aren’t going to be done until the final month of the challenge, anyway. (You know, the “do this every month of the challenge” items.)

I hope summer (or winter) is good to you!

Leave a Reply

