Misc Monday ~ in which a shawl is born

It’s time to show off a finished shawl! Yay!

Finished "Cats Will Play" shawl

This is the Cats Will Play shawl designed by Jaala Spiro, and it’s a fun knit. It’s named the way it is because the lace sections use the cats paw lace. Since this is going to be a gift for a cat lover, it seemed an appropriate pattern to use.

Finished "Cats Will Play" shawl

The yarn is Blue Moon Fiber Arts BFL Fingering Superwash in the Lavender Fields in the Mist colorway. It was a lot of fun to work with, but it got a little splitty on the cast-off. (Which is weird. It didn’t give me any trouble at all during the actual knitting, not even during the lace section.)

Finished "Cats Will Play" shawl

This is the second Cats Will Play shawl I’ve made, but the first one I made full-length. My first one used handspun yarn, and I just knit until I ran out. This one did leave me with some leftover yarn, but not much. It’s enough that I’ll give it to the gift recipient in case of emergency repairs, but not enough to make a matching accessory for the shawl. The result, though, is that this one is a proper shawl length, which my first one was very definietly a shawlette. (Note: yes, shawls can also be much larger than this one ended up. But make them much smaller and they are no longer really shawls.)

Finished "Cats Will Play" shawl

I love the end result of this one, and I hope the recipient does too. I don’t normally make her items with colors this subdued – I usually make her things with much more vibrant yarns. Hopefully this one is a nice change. It seems very calming to me, and we can all sometimes use calm in our lives.

Have a great week!

