WIP Weds ~ in which there is an unexpected shawl

Right. I don’t think I specifically said so, but my plan after casting off the Cats Will Play shawl (which is finished – more on that next Monday) was to work on the shawl I’ve had lingering in the WIP pile for ages. That one is my East of the Sun, West of the Moon shawl designed by Nim Teasdale. I love the knit, I love the beads, and I love the yarn for that shawl (Knitwhits Freia Ombré). However, the rows are very long, and so it (a) is not travel knitting, (b) takes a little focus, and (c) doesn’t show much progress even after I’ve been knitting for an hour (or five).

So I guess it should have been really no surprise that instead of working on my huge but lovely beaded shawl already on the needles, I cast on a NEW project. This one is the 22 Leaves Shawlette by Lankakomero. (It’s also going to be a Christmas gift.) I’m using some Noro Taiyo sock yarn that had been intended for socks until I didn’t like the way it was striping as socks. I like it much better as a shawl. Don’t you agree?

22 Leaves Shawlette

This is my progress after 2 days of knitting. (One of those days was Sunday, when I knit for a large chunk of the evening, and the other day was Monday, where I knit for an hour and change.) I am loving everything about this shawl. It’s working up beautifully, the yarn goes well with the pattern, the pattern is easy to follow (though it is charted and not written out, for those of you to whom it matters), and it’s easy enough to read the knitting that I know where I am just by looking at it. I’m definitely going to be making another one of these shawls. Maybe lots more. We’ll see.

There has been other knitting, too. I suppose I could take the 22 Leaves for travel knitting, but instead the Hyrule socks have been my recent travel knitting. I’ve put the first sock onto stitch holders, and have started the second sock from the other end of the ball of yarn. This way I can be sure to knit the socks to the same length without having to rip anything out or wasting any yarn.

Hyrule sock progress

I’m enjoying this knit too, but not as much as the shawl. I blame the needle choice, though. These are Addi Natura Bamboo Needles which are nice to knit with, but not so nice to do k3tog with. The tips just aren’t pointy enough. If I had other needles to switch to, ones with pointier tips, I would do that. But I don’t have anything else that will work (or at least, nothing currently not in use) so I’m stuck with these tips for now. I got sock one (essentially) finished on these needles, so I can do it for sock two as well. I’m just complaining at myself.

There are other things that are on the needles (or hook) right now, and I need / want to get back to most of them as soon as I can. However, that’s all that I’ve been actively working on this week.

Hope June is treating you well so far!