Friday Reads ~ in which I have a lot of reviews

So, about the title. I finally took the time to write up my reviews of Seanan McGuire’s Midnight Blue-Light Special and Half-Off Ragnarok, InCryptid books #2 and 3. (Links are to the reviews.) And there is still more! Details below…

WHAT I READ

I also finished reading The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern, (Cat Who #2) by Lilian Jackson Braun, and wrote up the review here. If you don’t feel like reading the whole review, the short version is that I liked it for the colorful characters and for the cats, but found the plot a little on the predictable side.

And I finished reading (well, listening to) The Seventh Bride by T. Kingfisher. Good story, but I’m not sold on the narration in all cases. (full review here)

AND I finished reading The Diabolical Miss Hyde (Electric Empire, #1) by Viola Carr. It’s a book I’ve wanted to read for a while, and I finally went ahead and asked Barnes & Noble to order it for me. Once I got it, I bumped it to the top of the TBR pile. And then I started reading it, and decided not to put it down. I did skim the middle section a bit (I went back and finished it later, but that’s part of how I kept my interest up to read nearly the whole book in one evening) and read the end before I read the middle. Still, an enjoyable read. (full review here)

WHAT I’M READING

I’m taking a deep breath before I start another paper book. I just devoured two in a very short period of time, and need to catch my breath. Also to, you know, catch up on chores and things.

However, I am listening to a book – Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by Neil deGrasse Tyson. Because Neil deGrasse Tyson. It’s a short book, but informative so far. I think I might need to also buy the hard copy version for reference later.

And I’m still working on Seanan McGuire’s InCryptid short stories in ebook form. (I’m only reading the ones that happen before the next of the novels, so I won’t be finishing the short stories yet. I’m also only reading the ones I can get as individual ebooks instead of the ones I need to get an entire short story compilation for.)

Once I’m done with the InCryptid shorts that I’ve caught up to, I’ll get back to Paid in Gold and Blood by Lazette Gifford. I have no issues with this ebook; I’ve just discovered that I am a LOT more likely to read short-format fiction on an ereader than a full-length novel. Short stories are perfect. Novellas are okay. But full-length novels? Those take me a while.

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT

I think my next audio book will be Drew Hayes’ NPCs. It’s been tempting me for a while, so when Audible had it on their one-day sale I bought it. I’m really curious how it will read (and it might make a GREAT gift for my family members that I used to play D&D with) so I think it will be soon, if not next.

For paper books, I want something a little slower-paced than what I’ve been reading. Not boring, just not something I’m tempted to read in one sitting. Maybe I’ll re-read something? Or maybe I’ll move on to another Cat Who mystery… I like those, but I can put them down when I want to.

