Friday Reads ~ in which we cross our fingers for spring

I think it may finally be springtime weather. I’m not going to say much about it in case I’m wrong, but I think… maybe…

WHAT I READ

I finished Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris. So much fun! I love the premise, and the execution was well done also. It was very reminiscent of the “Choose Your Own Adventure” books I read as a kid, and I enjoyed that aspect.

I also finished listening to Time for the Stars by Robert Heinlein. It’s interesting to see the directions that this particular vision of the future went. I’m also amused by the cultural / gender issues have aged. For instance, Tom (the narrator) was shocked that women no longer wore hats after he’d been out in space. Well, women (and men) haven’t worn hats on a regular basis in ages, so I was taken aback in the other direction. There are also other gender-based restrictions that are no longer the norm (excluding women from the landing party in today’s society wouldn’t fly) and that was interesting to read, too. Still, all told, this is an enjoyable book.

WHAT I’M READING

I am reading Midnight Blue-Light Special by Seanan McGuire, the second InCryptid book. It’s great fun. Though, my favorite character(s) in the series could easily be the mice…

I am also still reading Paid in Gold and Blood by Lazette Gifford on my e-reader. When I remember that I have an e-reader.  :-/

And I have started listening to The Seventh Bride by T. Kingfisher. I’m not entirely sure what I think of it yet, but I was interested by the blurb, so we’ll see where it goes.

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT

Who knows? I’m starting to learn that I don’t stick to my plans well when it comes to for-fun reading. Though I did just pick up InCryptid #3 from Barnes & Noble, so I might read that next. Or I still have the October Daye series (I think I have two unread books from that series on my TBR shelf). And I also just picked up a copy of Jenna Black’s Nightstruck, so I might go with that one.

Next audio book will probably be Neil deGrasse Tyson’s Astrophysics for People in a Hurry Because the title amuses me, and Tyson writes science for the layman quite well. I’ve read another one (or two?) of his books before, and it was a good learning experience for me.