WIP Weds ~ some knitting and some sewing

There is sewing on the blog today! Weird… it’s been a long time since that happened. (Which is not something I’m proud of or happy about. I want more time to sew as well as knit, but machine sewing is not as portable, and the prep (aka fabric cutting) takes more concentration for me than knitting prep does.) In any case, I have a sewing project to share today. It’s technically not a WIP, since I finished it in one evening, but I guess it could still be a WIP if I decide to ever go back and clean up the few messy places in the binding.

Undercover Maker Mat - finished 4/28/17

Whatever – there it is! That’s the Undercover Maker Mat, a free pattern from Craftsy. (Though you do have to have an account to download it.) I really enjoyed the project, and as I said I finished it in one evening. Though, if I had done everything “correctly” (such as done the binding a side at a time and hand stitching the reverse side) it would have taken longer. I took a few shortcuts that I probably shouldn’t have, but since this was a quick project for me to keep, instead of a gift, I decided to get it finished instead of making it perfect.

That said, I just might make more of them as gifts. Part of that will depend on whether I decide to make the gifts before my family members make their own sewing machine covers, since there are plenty of giftable sewing projects out there. But this one is certainly a contender.

Moving on… there is knitting today as well, even if it has all been on one project:

Vanilla is the New Black (sock progress)

The Vanilla is the New Black socks! These have been addicting. I’m not sure if it’s the meditation-like aspect of knitting vanilla socks, or if it’s the fun of reaching the next stripe in the color pattern. (I’m also glad I was able to pick out the stripe pattern, so that hopefully I can make the second sock match up perfectly. That would be ideal. I have a thing about matchy-matchy socks.)

I’m on the heel turn now. The turn itself seems pretty standard (so far), but the increases were certainly not. I really enjoyed that part. I mean, heel flaps are all well and good, but this way kept the stripe pattern more consistent than a heel flap would. I really appreciate that as well. Of course, the actual turn part of the heel turn (which I’m doing now) will mess up the stripe a little. I hope it will be less disruptive to the overall stripe pattern, though. We’ll see.

Have a great Wednesday! (And thank you for your happy thoughts earlier this week. I’m feeling much better now.)

