Friday Reads ~ in which I DNF a classic

Happy Friday! It’s almost the end of April, yikes! (Just two more days to enter my giveaway for journal stuff. Let me know what you’re most looking forward to about May for today’s entry.)

On to the reading…

WHAT I READ:

I can understand why Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea is considered a classic novel. It has that feel to it, and there’s no doubt that Jules Verne was an accomplished and imaginative author. However, can I just say how ANNOYING I find Professor Aronnax? He is supposedly a marine biologist, and yet asks some STUPID questions of Captain Nemo, things that a marine biologist should know! Yes, I realize that there are science facts and theories which I take for granted yet were not common (or known at all) at the time of this book’s writing. However, I can’t believe that a marine biologist would be so completely clueless about some aspects of his specific field of study. Argh. Needed to get that rant off my chest. Also, I am BORED with it. I find myself tuning out the book entirely, and only notice things which upset me. (For instance – spoiler – I heard the part about them killing a sea otter. But I have no idea what happened in the few minutes before or after that.) I am done with this book. If I was reading a paper version, I might skim the rest of it. Since this is an audio book, however, I am just DNF’ing it. Yes, Verne writes classics, but this particular one is not for me.

After DNF’ing that one, I started listening to Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. And I loved it. That was much more worth listening to, in my opinion. (Full review is here.) It is well written, well narrated (by Neil Gaiman), and a much more enjoyable topic. Gaiman even makes a description of the end of the world (Ragnarok) fun to listen to.

WHAT I’M READING:

I’m still reading Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris. I’m over half-way done with it, and have been enjoying it a lot. It’s my lunchtime reading, so I may or may not be done with it by this time next week.

I’m also still reading Kat Among The Pigeons by Lazette Gifford. I’m still planning on reading this one more — but also keep forgetting my tablet. Maybe it will become lunchtime reading once the NPH memoir is done.

And lastly, I just started listening to Time for the Stars by Robert Heinlein. It’s another short-ish audio book (about 6 1/2 hours) but it sounds like a fun story so hopefully will be a good choice.

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT:

My next audio book will either be The Seventh Bride by T. Kingfisher or The Great Courses’ The Medieval World, depending on whether I feel like listening to fiction or non-fiction. Both are interesting, so we’ll see which I pick.

For paper books, I’ll be reading one of Seanan McGuire’s books next. I still haven’t decided if I’d prefer the InCryptid series or the October Daye series. But both are fun, so either one should be a good book choice.

