Misc Monday ~ in which I join the Hamilton band wagon

I don’t like hype. I am probably less likely to go see an over-hyped movie in the cinema, or to rent it years later. (For example: I still have not seen either “Titanic” or “Avatar”.) So it should be no surprise that I was skeptical about “Hamilton: An American Musical“. And yet, so many friends (and my immediate family) were so excited about it that I decided in this case, if I could get tickets I needed to see the show so I could make my own decision.

Fortunately, I was able to get 2 tickets to the touring show, and at a reasonable-given-all-the-factors price. And so Mr. Wyrm and I went to see what all the hype was about.

Hamilton!

Now, we are theatre people. We watch a lot of musicals, and participate in them (in various capacities) too. We like musicals. But frankly, I didn’t see how “Hamilton” could live up to the hype. There is so much of it. And many, MANY of the people going nuts over “Hamilton” haven’t ever seen the show performed.

Personally, I don’t see how you can judge a musical by the music alone. There are so many factors: the set, the costumes, the acting, the dialogue (in most cases), the staging, the choreography, the lighting, the sound quality… The music is only one part – an important part, but still only one part. But this is exactly what so many of my friends have done. They have listened to the music, maybe seen some photos, and decided they LOVE HAMILTON. Some of them may have not even listened to the entire soundtrack. And I would venture to guess that there are people who haven’t even done that much, but everyone else loves it, and so they do, too.

Well. I was excited to go see the show, but had only heard one song (and a half, because it’s impossible to completely avoid the variations of “not throwing away my shot”) and seen as few photos as I could manage. So I didn’t really know what to expect. (Yes, I knew that the music style was not “traditional musical” music, but that doesn’t really equate to knowing what you’re going to get instead.)

Hamilton!

Our seats weren’t too bad; though we were pretty far back, we were on the Orchestra level and near center. And from where we were, the sound was great. The rows of seats in the Orpheum are completely squished together, though. This is standard for the big professional theatres, but still. Not my favorite aspect of the night.

And then the show started. And I was hooked.

I won’t go into spoilers about anything, in case you are like me and want to experience it as fresh as possible when you see the show for yourself. I have to say, though: wow. It was an amazing show. So worth the time, the money, and the wait. If you can manage it, this is a show to see.

Against all odds, “Hamilton” lived up to the hype.


Giveaway entry: I’m still running my journal stuff giveaway through the end of April 2017!  for today’s entry, let me know what you think of musicals in general or “Hamilton” in specific.

