Friday Reads ~ in which Audible has a great sale

I am a sucker for audio books. I love how I can multi-task that way. I can read while knitting, or exercising, or driving. Awesome. (Don’t get me wrong, I also knit while reading paper books and magazines, but the audio format makes it much easier.)

And so every now and then, Audible has a sale that I can not resist. The current can-not-resist sale is their “Spring Cleaning Sale,” which is 50% off “sitewide,” and runs until April 24 at 11:59 PM Pacific Time. It’s for members only, but if you’re an Audible member and have a wish list a mile long, like I do, you may want to take advantage of it. As they say in their advertisements, it’s “time to clean out your wish list.” I already picked up a few books, but I might go back before the sale ends and buy more.

WHAT I READ:

I finished Murder Past Due, first in the “Cat in the Stacks” cozy cat mystery series by Miranda James. It was really cute and fun, though not necessarily a new must-read series for me. I haven’t even decided yet if I’ll read Book 2 in the series, though I did enjoy Book 1. My full review is here.

I also took a break from Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea to listen to the audio version of Kevin Hearne’s The Purloined Poodle, which is either #1 in Oberon’s Meaty Mysteries or #8.5 in the Iron Druid Chronicles. Way too much fun! I wasn’t going to buy the audio version, but when this was on Audible’s 50% off sale, so it was too good a deal to pass up. I probably won’t do a full review of it, since it’s so short (just under 3 hours narrated) but it was a LOT of fun.

WHAT I’M READING:

I’m still on Kat among the Pigeons for my ebook reading. Maybe if I bring my tablet to work for lunch reading, I’ll actually remember that I can read ebooks on a bigger screen than my phone (which is the main reason why it takes me so long to read ebooks).

I’m still listening to the audio book of Twenty-Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, too. This is a longer book than I always assumed it would be. (I’m not sure why. The other classic adventure novels I’ve read haven’t exactly been short books.) I’m also not sure I can associate with any of the characters, so it’s not easy to get totally absorbed in the story.

And I’m still enjoying the hardback version of NPH’s Choose Your Own Autobiography. I’ve been reading it straight through instead of turning to the pages directed*, so it means there are times when I get confused from hopping from one career/hobby/era to another, but it’s a bunch of fun. And the writing is perfect, both for the person it’s an autobiography of and for the “choose your own adventure” books it’s mimicking.

*If you don’t know what I mean about turning pages, go find one of the old Choose Your Own Adventure books and read that. It will explain better than I can.

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT:

I’m pretty sure that Gaiman’s Norse Mythology will be my next audio book. I love hearing him narrate his own work, so that’s the direction I’m leaning for books to listen to.

And I think I’ll go with Midnight Blue-Light Special (the next InCryptid book) by Seanan McGuire for my next paper read. I need a good paranormal paper book to balance out the mystery and non-fiction books I’ve been reading.