Friday Reads ~ in which I am easily distracted

I have a bad habit of starting new things before I finish with the old things. This is true of knitting projects, video games, and even books. (It seems to get worse in the spring. It has always been easier to get distracted in the spring, all the way back to when I was in grade school and focusing on homework was so much less appealing than playing outside when it was nice and sunny again.) So it should come as no surprise that I have not finished any books this week, but have instead started a couple of new ones.

WHAT I’M READING:

I’m still reading NPH’s Choose Your Own Autobiography. But I am fickle, so I haven’t gotten very far yet.

I also started reading Murder Past Due by Miranda James, first of the “Cat in the Stacks” series of cozy mysteries. So far so good. I’m about half-way through and enjoying it, especially the fact that the cat in question is a Maine Coon. They’re great and super-personable cats.

I’m still working on Kat Among the Pigeons by Lizette Gifford. Still enjoying it. Still forget that I have ebooks to read, and so it still isn’t getting the attention it deserves.

AND I started listening to Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne. The more I look into Verne’s classic adventure novels, the more I think that I read all of ZERO of them growing up. There may have been a very abridged version of one or two of them which I read, but I’m nearly positive that I never read any of the full works before.

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT:

It’s been a while since I’ve read one of my pending Seanan McGuire novels, so I think that’s up next (once I finish the two paper books I’ve got going). Not sure if I will go for the Incryptid or October Daye worlds, though. And I have another Great Courses lecture series (this one on the Medieval world) which I think might be my next audio book. That, or Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology. Not positive, though it’s probably going to be one of those two.

For today’s give-away entry (see my post from Monday the 3rd for details) please leave a comment and let me know something you plan to do this weekend. (Or, if you prefer, let me know what you wish you were doing this weekend.) Have a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Friday Reads ~ in which I am easily distracted

  1. Chris says:

    I read 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea via the Classics Illustrated series… so, yeah, in comic book form. Went to go look at the wiki page to see if I could remember what other titles we had in that series, but other than A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, I’m not sure.

  2. Trix says:

    Gotta entertain relatives on Easter (sigh!), so that will take psychic energy away from me for sure. Will also be watching the NHL playoffs, and trying not to freak out about the Sharks’ various injuries…

    • Trix says:

      Oh, and I just finished Bryan Lee O’Malley’s SNOTGIRL, Vol. 1…totally different from his SCOTT PILGRIM series, of course, but I like how the potentially vapid fashion-blogging setting gets tinged with weird bits of stalking and potential murder. I’m curious to see where it goes!

Leave a Reply

