101 in 1001 ~ update the ninth

It’s time for the 9th update on my 101 in 1001 Challenge! If you haven’t been following along on this journey so far or have any questions about what the challenge is, you can check out this link for details.

I was hoping to get in 30 minutes, 3 days a week of yoga in this month, but I’m partly too out of practice – and partly too distracted this month – and so didn’t quite manage that. I did get in several sessions this month, though, and maybe this is one of those challenge items that needs to be worked up to before I can do the entire thing well.

I am also thinking that I need to focus on the 7 hours of sleep challenge item. I feel like I have been sleep deprived for way too long. And yet, I don’t think I’m really sleep deprived. Perhaps my sleep has just been too erratic, since I go to bed at vastly different times during the week and over the weekends.We’ll see, I guess.

Anyway, enough rambling. Here’s this month’s progress:

March 2017

2 items completed this month
29 items currently in progress

~*~     ~*~     ~*~

Food #38: Replace my Crock Pot and try 10 new recipes for it ~ 3/1/2017

I replaced my Crock Pot with an Instant Pot, and the IP has a bit of a learning curve when it comes to the slow cooker feature. Recipes that say to cook on “low” don’t necessarily mean “less” for the Instant Pot. I’ve found that most “low” setting Crock Pot recipes should cook on “normal” in the Instant Pot, or you end up with under-cooked vegetables. And cooking rice in a soup/stew in the Instant Pot in slow cooker mode hasn’t worked well for me at all. (Crunchy chicken & wild rice soup? No thanks!) On the other hand, I do enjoy the Instant Pot’s delayed cook settings. It’s so nice to have a timer feature on a slow cooker.

Personal #56: Go through my mug collection and only keep the ones I (we) intend to use ~ 3/18/2017

This one was relatively simple, but it required getting off my butt to actually do it. I didn’t get rid of many mugs, but I did reorganize some of them – for instance, one of the smaller mugs that I don’t use but don’t want to get rid of (it doesn’t hold enough liquid for frequent use) is now a teaspoon holder on my kitchen counter. And one of the mugs I enjoy but which doesn’t fit in my closet well because it’s an odd shape is now at work to be used there. And there are a few which don’t get used for one reason or another which are in the donation bag to get re-homed. All-in-all, a good, quick, successful project.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~

And that ends the first quarter of 2017! I hope the year has been good to you so far, and continues to do so. Happy April!

One thought on “101 in 1001 ~ update the ninth

  1. Chris says:

    I’ve turned several mugs into pen/pencil holders – one that doesn’t hold enough liquid and one that has an interior chip (it looks fine, but not safe).

Leave a Reply

