Friday Reads ~ in which we throw out everything I said last week

So remember all of my predictions for this week that I made last week? Yeah. Now forget them. I certainly did when I was picking my new reads. Anyway, there was still a lot of fun reading happening.

WHAT I READ

I finished The Cat Who Could Read Backwards by Lilian Jackson Braun. It’s a great start to the “Cat Who” series! Lots of fun to see how lifelike Koko (the cat) is. I’m going to enjoy reading more in this series, though it’s a LONG series so we’ll see how far I get in it. My full review is here. This is book #2 for my Purrfect Reading Challenge.

I also finished (and started, for that matter) Tuesdays at the Castle (Castle Glower book #1) by Jessica Day George. I love all of her stuff that I’ve read so far, and this one was no exception. I don’t have a full review of it up on my other site yet, but will link to it when I write one.

And I finished the final Narnia book by C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle. It… well. It doesn’t seem to be the same book I read as a child. I have a Misc Monday post in the works which should help explain that.

WHAT I’M READING

So, after The Last Battle I said I wanted a “fun” audio book, right? That must be why I just started The Great Courses: The Higgs Boson and Beyond (lecture series I found on Audible) by Professor Sean Carroll. Because nothing says “fun” like the Higgs boson particle.

I haven’t picked out the next paper book yet. My library book selection keeps shuffling around as I discover that I have checked out books I already own (The Ripper Affair) and as new holds arrive (Murder Past Due) and all that jazz. So we’ll see what I actually pick up when I’m ready for my next book.

And I’m still reading Kat Among the Pigeons in eBook format. I might concentrate on this one for a bit before picking out my next paper book, but we’ll see. I really prefer the paper to eBook format, though eBooks undeniably travel better. Hmm. At any rate, Kat has just gone to visit the pigeons, and it looks like things are about to get interesting. (Not that the beginning wasn’t interesting, but there’s a difference between background-set-up-interesting and action-adventure-excitement-interesting.)

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT

Next? Hmm. I can barely decide what I’m reading NOW. I think I’d better hold off on deciding what will come next for a week or two.

Have a lovely weekend!

One thought on “Friday Reads ~ in which we throw out everything I said last week

  1. Chris says:

    Funny – I sooo prefer ebooks for most things. I do prefer paper books for thinky books that I purchase – I think it’s a lingering grad school effect, but I always end up making notes in the margins (in pencil – I do use pencil at least) and starring bits here and there. And I find paper better for how-to books, for me.

Leave a Reply

