Friday Reads ~ in which I remember the Cat Who

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! Do you have any fun things planned for this holiday? I do, and they are all food-related. For dinner tonight I am making Mr. Wyrm and my favorite stew, the Drunken Irish Stew, though I am making it on the stove-top instead of in a slow-cooker. (It works just as well, you just have to adjust cook times.) I am also making Irish Soda Bread. This will be a first time for this particular soda bread recipe for me – I have one that’s been passed down by a friend which I love, but I want to compare it to other recipes and see if I can pick up any extra tweaks. And then on Sunday, family is coming to visit, and I am going to make corned beef and cabbage for dinner that night. I’ll be trying a new (to me) slow-cooker recipe for that, too, again to see if I can pick up any tweaks to my standard version.

Anyway, enough about food before I make myself hungry. Now on to the books!

WHAT I READ:

I finished listening to The Silver Chair, the 4th of the Chronicles of Narnia. Still love that book. I think it’s my favorite of the series.

WHAT I’M READING:

I’m still listening to The Last Battle, the final Narnia book. It’s taking a while because I DO NOT LIKE the beginning of this story. I understand why it’s there, but the part with the ape and the lion skin drives me nuts. This time around I’m having one heck of a time getting to the part of the story I like. I might skip ahead, since I know well what happens in the story.

I’m almost-but-not-quite done with The Cat Who Could Read Backwards. This is a lot of fun. I enjoyed reading about Qwill and Koko when they were established friends; reading about how they got to that point is a lot of fun too. I’ve been remembering the feel I liked about this series when I read some of the books (in random order) the first time, and it’s nice to know I still like it.

And I’m still reading Kat Among the Pigeons on my eReader. Still enjoyable, just taking this at my standard slow eBook pace.

WHAT I’LL READ NEXT:

Um. Oops. When I swung by the library to drop off books, I accidentally ended up in the Science Fiction / Fantasy section and two more books came home with me. So next up with be either The Ripper Affair (Bannon & Clare #3) or Trailer Park Fae, both by Lilith Saintcrow.

Next eBook will almost certainly be one of Lizette Gifford’s books that I have on my phone. No idea which one, though. I’ll pick among the two or three I have when I finish this one.

For my next audio book, I want to pick something fun. Something I will be able to just plain enjoy, no work required. I’m not sure what that will be. I might see about adding to my Harry Potter audio book collection, and picking up whatever the next in that series is which I don’t have. We’ll see.