WIP Weds ~ in which I knit for me

Most (not quite all, but most) of my knitting has been for me this week. One of the big exceptions to that was the cowl I showed you on Monday, but since that one is finished now, it’s not included in this week’s WIP Weds.

As I indicated then, I have also started a second version of that cowl, and this one is for me:

I do love the pattern. It’s easy enough without being boring. And adding the beads has worked out as well as I’d thought it would – once I found the right beads. I first tried with some lovely garnet chips, but those beads weren’t big enough for my crochet hook (in order to place the bead onto the knitting) or to hold their own individually against the mohair yarn. The strand of garnet beads laid on top of the ball of yarn looked great; one single bead nestled among the knitting got lost. So, new beads were found in the stash, and on we went!

So much fun. I do think I will limit myself to 2 of these cowls, though, or at least 2 for now. They are such a quick knit even with lace weight yarn that I will keep them in mind for a quick knitted gift option.

I have also been working on the Babette blanket. While that one is crochet, not knitting, it is also for me, so it counts.

I’m still in the square-making stage, though soon I will have all of them finished and can start joining them together again. (You may recall that I started joining them at one point in order to keep myself interested in the project. I stopped because I was not focusing well on the project and figured the best way to focus was to break it down into easy-to-identify steps.)

There has been a little other knitting, but no other pictures, so we’ll stop here for today. Happy March!

Leave a Reply

