WIP Weds ~ in which I have startitis

Those of you who are knitters (and possibly also those of you who love knitters) will be familiar with the term “startitis”. Basically, it means the urge to start a new project even though you haven’t finished any of your existing projects. Sometimes this is cured by starting one new project, and sometimes it requires many new projects to conquer.

In my case, this time, I was able to cure my startitis with a single new project. I suspect this has something to do with the fact that the new project is lace (which I love), easy to memorize (which is extremely convenient), and uses a soft fuzzy pretty mohair yarn.

This is the Circle of Love Lace Cowl by Evelyn Clark.I’m using Crystal Palace Yarns Kid Merino yarn, and LOVE IT so far. I have completed 4 of 9 repeats, so I’m nearly halfway through, and I’m still going strong. Given that I started this cowl on Friday late at night (when I finally gave in and decided that the urge to start a new project wasn’t going away) and I’m writing this post on Tuesday afternoon, I think that’s some darn good progress. Granted, almost the entirety of last weekend was spent either knitting or playing video games*. But still.

I love this project. And I think this is one of those patterns that I will make at least twice, because it’s so fun and simple. (If I do, I intend to add beads to the next one. There’s a double decrease on the 1st and 5th pattern rows which would be a perfect bead placement location.)

Come to think of it, I think it’s partly the weather which had me wanting something new. It’s been gray and rainy lately – which has been great for the drought, but not so great for recharging our batteries. (Californians are solar-powered, in case you weren’t aware.)

I hope you’ve been having a great week so far! Let me know if you have any antidotes for next time I get startitis…

* California has been hit hard by an atmospheric river. Lots of rain, wind, and flooding. We weren’t going ANYWHERE that we didn’t have to last weekend.

Leave a Reply

