WIP Wednesday ~ Geekalong and Sock knitting

First of all, I am still considering this the 2016 Geek-A-Long blanket. I started it in 2016 with the 2016 squares and rules. I didn’t finish it in 2016, but that’s still officially which blanket this is. It doesn’t matter that I’ve already included some 2014 squares, or that I will be including some 2017 squares. If I can figure out a way to make the size difference work, I will be including some 2015 squares also. Because I like them all.

Anyway, here are two finished squares that I haven’t shown you yet. Mortal Kombat:

and The Legend of Zelda (Majora’s Mask).

Also my start on the very first GAL square ever, the Caffeine Molecule:

It will be knit with the same yarn combo as Majora’s Mask, because that’s what I already had out and I was feeling lazy. Plus, I had always planned to knit the caffeine molecule in a variegated yarn, so this still fits my grand plan. (Not that I really have a grand plan.)

I have also been working a little on the Babette Blanket (still want to get that finished this year!) though I have no new pictures of it. And my travel knitting has been the Hedera Socks. Since I’ve been working on that over my lunch breaks all year (hehe, I love being able to say that! One of my favorite things about New Year’s) I have gotten some decent progress on the socks. Here’s a slightly old photo of the first sock, taken just as I finished the heel flap and was going to start the heel turn.

Hedera progress 1/3/17

I have since finished the heel turn and started the gusset decreases. But again, I haven’t taken any newer pictures than this one.

I hope you’re having a great week, and get some good progress on your hobbies this year, whatever those may be!

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday ~ Geekalong and Sock knitting

  1. tonymarkp says:

    In 2027 check back with me on this blanket. You inspired me to consider it but I’ve got three afghans in process since 2014. I wanna make this so bad! It’s awesome. Totally queued but I can’t possibly start until I finish an afghan.

  2. Nicole- The Legend of Zelda- I have the music from all those Nintendo games permanently in my head.

  3. mrspao says:

    Those squares are really neat. I like your new socks too.

Leave a Reply

