WIP Weds ~ the holiday for me edition

Happy holiday week! There are a lot of holidays all at once this year. (Sometimes they’re farther apart… and these are just the three I am most familiar with. I’m sure there are others I’m not aware of.) Yule starts today — on the Winter Solstice,  12/21. I have known this for a while, but I wasn’t aware that it was a multi-day celebration. (Which it is at least according to my Google search.) Then, Hanukkah starts on 12/24 this year, which is also Christmas Eve. I think this is the first time since I’ve been paying attention to the dates that the beginning of Hanukkah and Christmas have been on the same day! Very fun.

Anyway, happy holiday week! This year, I have NO holiday knitting to show you. I didn’t do any holiday knitting this year, so all the knitting is for me! (Well, mostly. But the one thing I’m currently knitting which I’ll be gifting isn’t going to be gifted until next year. So it’s not holiday knitting.)

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

1. The Dangling Conversation scarf.

It’s been a lot of fun. Lots of beading, since I elected to add a bead at the start of every row. But still a fun knit!

2. The Mortal Kombat GAL square.

I had paused on the GAL knitting for a little while, but I’ve picked it back up and am loving it again. (I think this is partly because I am so excited about the 2017 GAL blanket. Someone save me from myself.) I don’t have high hopes for finishing the 2016 GAL blanket in time to submit it for prizes – I still have 5 squares to knit – but I’ve decided that I want to have at least the official 2016 GAL blanket finished before I start any 2017 GAL knitting.

I am planning on making the current GAL blanket bigger than my official 2016 one. This is because I want to go back and knit some non-video-game themed 2014 squares as well. But that might happen later on, and not right away. I’ll have to see.

3. The Leaving Cowl.

Leaving Cowl - 75% done

This is the one that I am knitting for a 2017 gift. I’m close to done with it, which is nice, but I also feel no pressure to get it finished before Christmas. And that is nicer. I’ve been loving knitting it in the Cascade 220 sport yarn that I had originally bought for the 2015 GAL blanket. (Hmm, I wasn’t so sure about knitting the GAL blanket in sport-weight. Maybe I’ll have to re-think my participation in 2017.  We’ll see… I do love the GAL knitting community. AND THE YARN for the 2017 blanket. So yummy looking.)

Anyway, that’s my current knitting progress. I’m enjoying it and the lack of “get it done before Christmas!” stress.

I hope your week is stress-free and holiday-full!

One thought on “WIP Weds ~ the holiday for me edition

  1. mrspao says:

    I gave up on holiday knitting a while ago. The stress was too much!!

Leave a Reply

