2017 Reading Challenge Plans

Well, here’s another Friday without any Friday Reads book review update. I’ve been reading again this week, but not enough to finish any of the books I’m working on. And it’s come to the point where I’ve determined I’m not going to be completing my 2016 Reading Challenge. I think partly I got sick of reading what the list dictated I needed to read next. So that was a learning experience for me – don’t plan myself into a corner by getting too detailed with my plans. (You may recall from Wednesday’s blog post that I’d been doing the same thing with my knitting.)

Anyway, with that in mind, I have determined what my 2017 Reading Challenge will be. And it will have a lot looser rules than this year (they’re really more guidelines).

Part 1: I will be participating in the Purrfect Reading Challenge 2017. This is hosted by Yvonne over on Blogger (or she started a group over on Goodreads if you prefer that participation format). I will be doing the “purring” level, which means I am committing to read 10 cat mystery books. (The cat needs to be a main character in the book for it to count.) It sounds like fun, and I’ve enjoyed reading the “Cat Who” books in the past, so this should be a good way to find more enjoyable cozy mysteries for fun reads.

Part 2: for every book I re-read, I must read 3 new-to-me books. I’m hoping to use this part to knock down my TBR pile on my bookshelf a bit. I read plenty of new books when I come straight home from the bookstore or the library. But when I go to my bookshelf to find something to read, I’m more likely to pick up an old friend instead of something new… and there’s a growing pile of new books waiting on my shelf for me to read them.

So that’s my reading plan for 2017. I think it will be much more easily doable than this year’s challenge with its many specific requirements. Happy reading!

7 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenge Plans

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- Where have I been? I wasn’t aware there were that many cat mystery books.

    • Chris says:

      There’s the Lillian Braun Cat Who series… and then there’s another series by Carole Nelson Douglas (I think), which features a main character black cat…

      • Nicole says:

        There seem to be several bookshop cat mysteries, too, as well as one in a bookmobile. And there’s the Rita Mae Brown Mrs Murphy series, which is “co-written” by her cat, Sneaky Pie Brown.

  2. Chris says:

    It sounds pretty relaxed and do-able. 🙂

  3. yvonne473 says:

    So glad you joined my reading challenge! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

