101 in 1001 ~ update the fifth

It’s time for the 5th update on my 101 in 1001 Challenge! If you haven’t been following along on this journey so far or have any questions about what the challenge is, you can check out this link for details.

It seems like I both got a lot done this month, and nothing at all. It’s been a very weird month. (I took a vacation during it, plus there was the Thanksgiving Holiday, so I guess those things contributed to the weird feeling of the month, but I’m not sure that was all of it.) Anyway, I guess I’ll let the numbers speak for themselves instead of trying to explain them. Here’s this month’s progress:

November 2016
3 items completed this month
22 items currently in progress

Food #31: Bake a pumpkin pie ~ 11/23/2016

Since I hosted Thanksgiving dinner this year, I could choose who would be providing which parts of the meal. I decided I would provide the turkey and the desserts – which meant I had the perfect excuse to bake a pumpkin pie! I used the basic recipe from the back of the pumpkin pie filling for this one. Simple, basic, and pretty good. I will make tweaks to the recipe next time I make a pumpkin pie, because it was good but not perfect. Since I like pumpkin pie, I will be on the lookout for the perfect pie recipe. Hopefully the perfect recipe won’t require me to start from a pumpkin, because that sounds like just too much work. I will make a pie crust from scratch next time, though. (I ran out of time for this one.)

Food #36: Go a month without eating fast food ~ 11/30/2016

When you have a long vacation in places with yummier food options than fast food, this challenge item becomes a lot easier. It helps when you have just finished a show that left you with no time for any dinner options except fast food, and so you are sick of fast food and will go out of your way to eat something different.

Writing #99: Participate in NaNoWriMo in 2016 ~ 11/1/2016

Technically as soon as I started writing on November 1st, this one was done. Didn’t plan out the challenge requirement for this one very well. Oh well, I’m glad I didn’t put anything about word count (especially winning NaNo) for this challenge item, because I had a miserable word count this year. I still participated in NaNo, and I intend to keep going on writing the novel, but it’s going to be a bit slower going than the at-least-close-to-50k in one month that I had hoped for.

Hard to believe there’s only one month left in the year, isn’t it? Hopefully 2016 will be kind to us in December.

 

One thought on “101 in 1001 ~ update the fifth

  1. mrspao says:

    Well done on achieving some of your goals. I do like pumpkin pie, the best I made was from scratch with crust from scratch but it was a lot of work 🙂 I’ve got canned so I’ll try that next. I can’t believe we are almost at the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

