101 in 1001 ~ update the second

Hi there! Here’s the second month’s update for the 101 in 1001 Challenge. If you have any questions about what it is, you can check out this link for details. I have made some modifications to the challenge goals since then (mostly to make the goal either more or less specific, or sometimes to modify the timing of a goal) but it’s essentially the same thing. The first link in this post is where the current progress on my challenge will always be. But now, let’s jump right in to the progress:

August 2016
3 items completed this month
18 items currently in progress

Arts & Crafts #2. Clean spinning stash and rehome unwanted fiber ~ completed 8/2/2016

This is done. There was only a little fiber that I didn’t want, and it wasn’t worth passing along to anyone else, so I just got rid of it. The rest of my fiber I all want to spin… when I have the time. Now I must make time. (But the absolute priority for spinning is the Purple Majesty yarn for my sweater. That’s #11 on my list.)

Arts & Crafts #9. Clean yarn stash and rehome unwanted yarn ~ completed 8/5/2016

As with the knitting magazines & books from last month, I haven’t done the donating part yet. I also want to first offer them to the ladies in my S’n’B, and we’ll be getting together shortly. After that, any yarn that is not claimed by my friends will be donated somewhere.

Fitness #25: Complete 30-Day Plank Challenge at least once

I started this one on the first of the month and got about half-way through, but planking for longer than a minute really hurts my back. I’ve since restarted it, but using the suggestions I’ve found online, I’m not going to hold any of the planks longer than 1 minute. For the ones where 60 seconds or more are indicated on the challenge, I will split the one long plank into two (or more) shorter planks to keep the length down to under a minute each.

Food #38: Replace my Crock Pot and try 10 new recipes for it

I got an Instant Pot toward the end of the month, and have tried one new recipe in it. So far so good, but I’m not going to judge any appliance by a single use.

Personal #66: Try the KonMari method for organizing & tidying-up for at least 3 consecutive, active months

I’m still working on this one. (I’m about halfway through my goal of 3 months.) I’m not “tidying” (aka sorting and getting rid of) things as quickly as I had been before rehearsals started, but I am still managing to slowly go through some things. I am also still keeping my clothes tidied per Marie Kondo’s suggested order and style. I have stopped thanking items, however. That wasn’t working for me. When I do get rid of things, though, I remind myself to think about the good memories associated with that item instead of bad memories or guilt due to not using the thing. That part of the KonMari Method I do find useful. Mindful gratitude is always a good thing.

Personal #68: Watch 5 “what do you mean, you haven’t seen this?” movies (1/5) ~ (1 = A Clockwork Orange)

My reading this book (A Clockwork Orange) reminded Mr. Wyrm about the movie. When he found out I hadn’t seen it, he/we decided that it would be a good one to watch together. For the record: I liked the movie better than the book, but I think watching it once is plenty.

Personal #70: Write Morning Pages daily for at least a month ~ completed 8/31/2016

This was a chore on only one or two days, and that makes me feel good. I must admit, I love writing by hand (especially using my lovely fountain pens) and so even when I had nothing specific to write about I almost always enjoyed writing these Morning Pages. I intend to continue them as frequently as possible.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~

There are other challenge items in progress, but those are the interesting ones. Have a great September!

Leave a Reply

