Ten On Tuesday ~ Summer Camp

Good morning! I hope you’re having a great day. Here in NorCal we’re currently having spring in July, so I’m happy. (But we had summer in May, so I guess it’s all even.)

Did you go to camp as a kid? Day camp or sleep over camp? I’m hoping you did because the Ten On Tuesday prompt for Tuesday, July 12, 2016, is 10 Things You Loved About Summer Camp.
Have fun!

This should be fun. I did go to summer camp as a kid – it was with the Girl Scouts, but that totally counts. We never bothered to consider the other camps, since I always enjoyed the Scout camps. We did mostly day camps, though there was one week-long sleepover camp we went to, and our favorite day camp had a one-night sleepover at the end of the camp. Anyway, here’s my list of things I loved about camp (in no particular order):

  1. Crafts! They were often silly, but they were fun.
  2. Home-made ice cream!!! This is one of the things I enjoyed most about camp. Yes, we had to spend a lot of time taking turns at the manual crank on the ice cream maker, but the result was worth it!
  3. Creek walking. I don’t know if I would enjoy this as much now, because some of those creeks looked nasty. But at the time, walking around in the creeks was one of camp’s highlights.
  4. Night hikes! These were rare, since most of my camp experience was the day camp variety, but they were one activity I looked forward to all week during our camp that had the sleepover at the end.
  5. Singing. Around campfires when we had them, but there were songs more often than there were campfires. This was Girl Scout camp, after all. We had songs for just about everything.
  6. Weird competitions. One of the camps that I went to when I was older (this one was a local Camporee for junior high Girl Scouts) included a bunch of competitions. Things like knot tying and plant identification and fire building and cooking actual food with random ingredients. This was probably my FAVORITE CAMP EVER because it was a great team-building experience but it also felt like we were actually learning something useful.
  7. Aging-out of “camper” status and becoming “CREW”. (Which stands for “Cadettes Ready Eager Willing”. (Don’t ask me how I remember that. I’m not sure.) AKA junior high Scouts who assisted the adult Leaders in corralling a bunch of younger kids around camp.) Being a camper was fun. Being CREW was at least as much fun. I guess I’ve always enjoyed being in charge of things…
  8. Dinosaur Egg hunts. I don’t remember much about these, but I vaguely remember decorating watermelons with spots and hiding them on the outskirts of camp for the younger campers to find. I remember it being amusing, at any rate.
  9. Family time! Since my family was also all involved with Girl Scouts, we usually all went to camp together. This would annoy some people, but I loved it.
  10. Being outdoors really early in the morning. Yes, this also only happened on the morning of the sleepover night. Granted, camp started much earlier than I get up now on mornings when I don’t have work. That time of day was enjoyable too, but the really early mornings while everyone (except my dad) was still sleeping were my favorites. Seeing the sunrise from the campsite was amazing.
  11. (Bonus item! Yay! Because once I thought of it, I couldn’t leave it off my list.) Stargazing. Another sleepover-only event, and it sometimes corresponded with night hikes, but I love and dearly miss stargazing from camp. I don’t miss sleeping on the ground in a sleeping bag instead of a nice comfy bed, but I miss the stars.
One thought on “Ten On Tuesday ~ Summer Camp

  1. Kat with a K says:

    Okay, I am in – homemade ice cream? crafts? stargazing? Yes please! Great list!

Leave a Reply

