Ten On Tuesday ~ Audiobooks

I hope everyone had a great weekend! I baked an apple pie for Father’s Day, so that was a good contribution to our family’s celebration. I also got to meet my sister’s new kitten (so tiny!), and that was an extra bonus. I also got to help her clips his claws… less of a bonus, but certainly important.

The Ten On Tuesday prompt for Tuesday, June 21, 2016 is 10 Things To Do While Listening to an Audiobook.

Have fun!

Well, I listen to audiobooks a lot. I don’t do all of these things while listening to audiobooks equally – some of them I do a lot more often than others, but the list isn’t weighted in favor of that. It’s, as usual, written in the order in which I think of them.

Drive. Whether it’s a road trip or a commute.

  1. Knit! Best way to do two of my favorite things at the same time.
  1. Work. My day job is a place where I can listen to music or podcasts or even audiobooks, and no one blinks an eye. Of course, I have to make sure the task I’m working on will allow me to concentrate on both the work and the book, but I have a few busy work style tasks that work well for this.
  1. Read along. Some books require the extra focus.
  1. Nothing. Sometimes it’s nice to just listen.
  1. Exercise. It can help take your mind off the monotony of a treadmill, for instance.
  1. Sit on the beach. I used to read paper books on the beach, but audiobooks would work just as well and would let you enjoy the waves while you read.
  1. Sew. Not so much the machine sewing part, but this works for either hand sewing or cutting out fabric and the other parts of sewing that don’t involve a machine adding noise. (Of course, if you have a super-quiet sewing machine, I guess it wouldn’t make a difference. I don’t. Mine is too loud to properly enjoy a book while it’s running.)
  1. Get your hair or nails done. Some people listen to music while doing this. You could as easily listen to a book.
  1. Take notes. This is one that I haven’t done in a while, but when I listen to non-fiction books especially, there are often little things I want to remember, so I make note of them.

What about you? Any audiobook tips you have to share with me?

Here’s a bonus kitten picture, since I know some of you will want to see my sister’s little cutie:

Nimbus

2 thoughts on “Ten On Tuesday ~ Audiobooks

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- I read very fast, but audiobooks would be good on a drive.

    What is that little sweetie’s name?

Leave a Reply

