Ten On Tuesday ~ Albums

Hi Everyone,
The Ten On Tuesday prompt for Tuesday, April 19, 2016, is 10 Albums You Love. As in, you love the entire album, not just a few select songs.
Have fun!

This is fun. Though I have to say, it seems to be more a product of my generation and older, instead of the younger generations. Now, with digital media being the way we consume music, I’m not always even aware of entire current albums. It’s rare that I’ve even HEARD the entire album anymore, yet I remember when I was younger, if we loved a song we had to buy the album in order to own it. (Singles were an option, but rarely a cost-effective one in my opinion.)

Anyway, I do know several albums that I love, so here’s my list of 10 albums I love, in the order in which I think of them. One note, though: Greatest Hits compilations seem like a cop-out, so I’m not including any of those.

  1. Weird Al’s “Mandatory Fun” – Okay, this is one of the few newer full albums I know and love. (And Mr. Wyrm got us tickets to see him perform live on this latest tour! Whee!)
  2. the “Aladdin” original Broadway cast recording – I enjoy the movie soundtrack as well, but the Broadway stage show music? SO MUCH BETTER. I LOVE the new songs!
  3. U2’s “Achtung Baby” – This was the soundtrack of my freshman year at college. It wasn’t a brand-new album at the time, but it’s what we listened to. A lot.
  4. Toad The Wet Sprocket’s “Fear” – This is one of my all-time favorite albums.
  5. The Waltons’ “Lik My Trakter” – Unless you’re Canadian, I doubt you’ve heard of this one. I have yet to meet anyone other than my Canadian friends who have heard of this band, but it’s one of the artists that my Canadian BFF introduced me to that I enjoy the most. Interestingly, even though I’ve never met another American who knows this band, I found this album in the “Used CD” section of my local record store (back at a time when there were multiple record stores…).
  6. The Barenaked Ladies’ “Gordon” – And speaking of Canadian artists… the Barenaked Ladies are quite a bit more American mainstream now. But I got to hear “Gordon” back before most of the US knew who they were, and this is still my favorite of their albums.
  7. Evanescence’s “Fallen” – I bought this album for the one song (“Bring Me To Life”) and ended up loving the album. I’m sure that’s every recording artist’s dream.
  8. Gin Blossoms’ “New Miserable Experience” – I’m not really sure what it is about the sound of this album that I enjoy so much, but I do enjoy it. I guess, for one thing, it feels like a cohesive album, rather than just a bunch of songs stuck on a disc together.
  9. the “When Harry Met Sally” soundtrack – Just a bunch of fun. Plus (IMO) Harry Connick Jr. at his best.
  10. Moxy Früvous’ “Bargainville” – Another Canadian band I don’t expect many Americans to know (but this time I know at least one other American who has heard of them without my introduction).

It seems weird to not include the Beatles or the Beach Boys on this list. However, I don’t know their music in album form nearly as well as I feel I should. I used to listen to their albums on vinyl, true, but I also listened to my parents’ 45’s, or mixtapes which – though they only contained the single artist – mashed up the albums into one “best of” cassette. I don’t really feel I know the Beatles’ or Beach Boys’ albums, even if I know many of their songs.

Have a great rest of the week!

One thought on “Ten On Tuesday ~ Albums

  1. Chris says:

    I am aware of Moxy Fruvous, but just a novelty song or two.

    Hmm. What would my list look like? I guess 5 artists, 10 albums:
    Cloud Cult – Light Chasers, Feel Good Ghosts
    The Mountain Goats – The Sunset Tree, Get Lonely
    Shearwater – Animal Joy, Rook
    Ravens & Chimes – Reichenbach Falls, Holiday Life
    The National – High Violet, Boxer

Leave a Reply

