Ten On Tuesday ~ Calming

The Ten On Tuesday prompt for Tuesday, April 5, 2016, is 10 Things You Do To Calm Down.
Have fun!

Hmm, this is an interesting one. I don’t often get angry enough that I need to calm down in that sense, but I can make this a list of things I do to wind down at the end of the day, or to relax when I’m stressed out.

  1. Knit. This one should be a no-brainer for anyone who knows me. When I do get angry, it is one of the things I use to calm down.
  2. Read. Reading can be a good escape from whatever ails me.
  3. Watch TV or a movie. I often do this with knitting, so it’s two relaxing things in one! (Well, relaxing depending on the movie/TV subject and plot, of course.
  4. Go for a walk. When I am angry, I tend to walk faster. Just as a warning, if you’re walking with me.
  5. Use the exercise bike. It doesn’t calm me down heartbeat-wise, but it does provide something else I can focus on, and zone out to. The swooshing of the bike wheels can be calming.
  6. Video games. Again, depending on the game content it might not be physically calming, but it can be a great mental stress reliever.
  7. Journal. I’ve being keeping a Bullet Journal this year (3 months complete, and I still love it), and the process of writing out my schedule or going through my task lists can be relaxing.
  8. Get or give a back rub. Both are relaxing, in different ways.
  9. Nap. Well, when I can nap. Which is sadly much less often than I’d like.
  10. Pet and/or play with the cat. She might not be as easy to play with as dogs are but my cat is still a great source of relaxation.

Have a great rest of the week!

3 thoughts on “Ten On Tuesday ~ Calming

  1. Kat with a K says:

    Knitting and journaling appear on more than one list! That is just awesome!

  2. Chris says:

    There’s some overlap with my calming myself list. 🙂 I wonder if Carole gets her inspiration from some of the lists of journal prompts floating around?

  3. mrspao says:

    Great list 🙂

Leave a Reply

