WIP Weds ~ a cowl and another square

Good morning and Happy Wednesday! I have an actual WIP Weds for you today. Fancy that!

First up we have a picture of the Obsessio Cowl that I’ve been working on since just after Christmas. It’s been a fun knit, in part because of the sequined yarn, in part because of the Needle Lites (light-up needles) I’ve been using to knit it, and in part because the pattern itself is interesting enough to be fun without being so complex it was frustrating.

At any rate, I’m nearly done with it. The cowl is currently blocking, though I’m not sure how much good it will do. The yarn has a significant acrylic content – which is rare for me – and I’m not sure if the wool and mohair will balance it out enough for it to hold a blocking. Regardless of whether or not the blocking will work long-term, though, it needed a wash after knitting, so it’s worth a try. All that’s left to do is to put the stitches back on the needles and graft the ends together. I’m looking forward to wearing it, even though winter weather is close to over here in California. It’s a lacy enough piece that it should work well for a spring piece, too.

Next up we have my progress on the d20 square for the 2016 Geek-A-Long blanket. I’m following the charts created by another Raveler for the back of the square, so that the reverse of the 20 has a 1 on it. (Any D&D players will understand the significance of this.)

D20 GAL square progress

This is my 4th square for the blanket. The official size of the blanket is 24 squares, but since I’m using a lighter weight yarn than called for, that will probably make a smaller blanket than I’d like to use. Still, I’m going to try to finish the official blanket in 2016, and then might add to it if I decide it’s not large enough. I’m more-or-less on track for this, since part of the end of the year will need to be spent joining the blanket together. I’d be happiest if I can get ahead of the square count, though. We’ll see. That will partly depend on how many other projects I work on this year. (Good thing I’m not planning much gift knitting in 2016.)

Hope all is well with you, and that if you have any WIPs, you’re making good progress on them!

One thought on “WIP Weds ~ a cowl and another square

  1. mrspao says:

    What a gorgeous cowl – lovely colour!

Leave a Reply

