Ten on Tuesday ~ I Have A Dream

The Ten On Tuesday prompt for Tuesday, January 19, 2016 is in honor of Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service – 10 Things You Can Do To Serve Others.
Have fun!
Carole

Well, this is a unique day for me: this is the first Martin Luther King Day I get as a holiday since I was in school. It is a good reminder, though, that when we are able, we need to do things to help others instead of only worrying about ourselves. I need to do more of the things that will be on my list… I’m great at thinking of things to do, but not so great about getting out and doing them. (That’s why some of the things will be things you can do from your computer at home.)

Have a great day!

  1. Volunteer at a food bank. I did this a lot when I was younger, with our Girl Scout troop. I haven’t done as much lately, but I want to.
  2. Donate online to a charity. There are many to choose from, but the one I’ve donated to most recently is the Child’s Play Charity, which the gals at Lattes and Llamas (the people who run the Geek-A-Long knitting fun) introduced me to. The donation website says they seek “to improve the lives of children in hospitals and domestic violence shelters through the generosity and kindness of the video game industry and the power of play.
  3. Knit hats or blankets for hospitals. I have been meaning to do this, but haven’t found (or searched too hard for) any details on exactly what is needed or where to send it yet.
  4. Volunteer at a soup kitchen. This is not something I have done, but I know others who have. It seems like it would be very rewarding.
  5. Sign up for the Hogwarts Running Club. My sister and my BIL told me about this the other day, and I will be joining the club. They use your registration fees to donate to charity, and you have the added bonus of committing to running (or walking) more.
  6. Get rid of clothes and other things you no longer use by giving them to a charity thrift shop. Most thrift and second-hand shops, especially the chains, aren’t related to a charity. Check into the shop you’ll be donating to before taking your items there if you want them to benefit those most in need.
  7. Volunteer with your local community theatre. It’s not the same as volunteering at a soup kitchen or food bank, but it is a service that needs volunteer help. Also, some community theatre companies do pro-bono shows for those who couldn’t otherwise afford to see live theatre.
  8. Speak up. I know that I am someone who needs reminders. Many other people are the same way: we’ll happily do good deeds, but we need reminders that there are things we can do to help. Spread the word. Remind others that there are others less fortunate than us – and most importantly, there is something we can do about it.
  9. Join the Peace Corps (or donate to them). Joining the Peace Corps is not something that I have done, or am going to do. It is not for everyone. But I know people who have, and for them it was an incredible experience.
  10. Volunteer at your local school or church. Especially if you belong to a church or have a child at a particular school, that makes it easy to determine which organization to assist. But even if you don’t have a child in school, you can still offer to aid them.
One thought on “Ten on Tuesday ~ I Have A Dream

  1. Kat with a K says:

    Great list! And, YES volunteer at your local school!

Leave a Reply

