WIP Weds ~ Tetris

Happy Wednesday! I have been up to my usual knitting tricks, and have cast on three new projects since Christmas. Luckily, this time I also cast off two pairs of socks (one had only needed the top ribbing) and a hat in that same period of time. I think that brings my total number of (knitting) WIPs to 9. Maybe 10.

Anyway, here’s a picture of my most recent WIP:

GAL 2016 - Tetris

I don’t have shots of the other new WIPs today – I do prefer taking knitting pics in natural light, and by the time I get home from work there’s no more of that to be had. But anyway… about this project!

This is the Tetris square for the 2016 GAL Blanket. It doesn’t look like much yet, but you can see the full square over at Lattes and Llamas. You can also, if you’re so inclined, donate to the Child’s Play Charity through their link (both on their site and here). This is the charity that they have been benefiting through the GAL (that’s Geek-A-Long) blanket fundraising for the past few years. It sounds like a good cause, and I will be donating to it again this year.

I’m using fingering weight yarn for this blanket, even though the official yarn is a worsted weight. (Fingering is okay too, but it’s not what’s called for.) I’ll be using black yarn in each square, with a brighter contrast color. (That is what’s officially called for, though I’m sure some people will use a different color scheme.) These particular yarns are Knit Picks Stroll (for the black) and Knit Picks Felici (for the rainbow contrast color).

I’m having fun with it, and am hoping that – since I’m using fingering weight this time – I will be able to finish this blanket, unlike the 2015 GAL which I stopped after two squares. Even the sport-weight yarn was bulkier than I wanted to work with for as much knitting time as the blanket would have required. Sock-weight is much more my speed. (I’m thinking I might sew those two 2015 GAL squares together into either a bag or a pillow so that I can actually use them for something.)

Anyway, happy hump day! I hope the rest of your week is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

