Ten On Tuesday ~ Honoring David Bowie

The Ten On Tuesday prompt for Tuesday, January 12, 2016 is 10 Favorite David Bowie Songs. I was so sad to hear of his death this morning and when I realized I hadn’t sent out a prompt yet for this week, well, it just seemed right to honor his music with our posts.
Have fun!
Carole

This is a bittersweet one. I love that we’re celebrating a great rock artist, but it’s sad that this prompt came up because of his death. I hadn’t realized that he had been battling cancer. (Then again, if I was a celebrity, I probably wouldn’t want the world to know of my illnesses either, unless I was using them to promote a charity.) Anyway, I always knew David Bowie best for Labyrinth. I knew some of his songs when I was younger, but I didn’t always realize they were his. And I’ve become familiar with more of his songs more recently. But I will always think of him first as the Goblin King.

Sigh. At any rate, here is my list of favorite Bowie songs, in no particular order (except this first, which is my top favorite):

  1. Space Oddity
  2. Under Pressure (the Queen song – though I didn’t know until just now that David Bowie was involved with it)
  3. Peace On Earth/Little Drummer Boy (with Bing Crosby)
  4. Ziggy Stardust
  5. Let’s Dance
  6. Dancing In The Street (with Mick Jagger)
  7. Modern Love
  8. Fame
  9. Magic Dance (from Labyrinth)
  10. As The World Falls Down (also from Labyrinth)

Have a great week! And hug someone you love today. Life is too short to do otherwise.

One thought on “Ten On Tuesday ~ Honoring David Bowie

  1. Chris says:

    I was REALLY into Bowie when I was in junior high – much less so in the last 2 decades. “Space Oddity” will always be my favorite – it was the first song of his I ever heard. I think “I’m Afraid of Americans” might be my second.

Leave a Reply

