Ten On Tuesday ~ Achievements

The Ten On Tuesday topic for Tuesday, December 29, 2015, is 10 Things You Did in 2015 That Made You Proud.
Have fun!

  1. Trained a new Stage Manager. Granted, this is a volunteer theatre company, and so there’s lots more that professional SMs do that we don’t. But still, it’s nice to have another trained SM in our company so I don’t get burned out by doing too many shows. But speaking of that…
  2. Stage Managed two successful shows for my local community theatre group. One at the beginning of spring and the other mid-fall, but even so that was almost enough to burn me out for a while.
  3. Had serious talks with Mr. Wyrm about finances. This is a big one for me, because I get embarrassed talking about things and would rather just handle it myself. But we are married and a team now, so I’m glad I was finally able to sit down and talk about where things stood.
  4. Left the job I’d held for years in favor of one that makes me happier. Yes, it meant taking a significant pay cut, but it gave me back more time (shorter commute) and cuts down on the job-as-source-of-unhappiness aspect.
  5. Made Halloween costumes for me and Mr. Wyrm. I’ve done this before, but it’s always a good feeling to make costumes and get compliments on them.
  6. Sang with my community theatre’s caroling group. I only went on one gig, but it was fun, and it helped the community.
  7. Donated to The Bloggess6th Annual James Garfield Miracle. I gave a bit, though not as much as I would like to be able to afford, but if this thing works the way it’s supposed to, it went to people who needed help. And I had help to give. It’s a good feeling. And if you want to feel good, or need a good cry, go read the comments to this post. Proof that there are still good people out there – even on the Internet.
  8. Speaking of donating… I also donated to Sierra Club via Beat The Dev. Not one of my regular charities, but I enjoy helping other people with their donation goals. It’s kinda strange: I donate to a few charities on a regular basis, but that feels “normal”. Donating to charities that other people are actively recruiting for somehow feels better. Maybe because it’s above and beyond what I would have done normally?
  9. Put highlights in my sister’s hair. (And it looks good, and she said she liked it.) Not a huge accomplishment, but it’s something I’ve been offering to do for ages, and she finally took me up on it. It feels good to help her feel pretty at a much lower cost than she’d been normally paying. Yeah, a hairdresser is still better at it than I (and has better products), but neither of us can afford to pay salon prices on a regular basis.
  10. Helped Mr. Wyrm with his backaches. I manage to do this on a regular basis, but I still feel good about it. We both get tension headaches sometimes, and while I can often manage mine with some Advil and a heat pack, his behave best when I work out the knots for him.

How about you?

Have a great rest of the week and a very happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

