Sunday Reads ~ Jinn and Juice

I hope you all had a great Christmas! My family and I had a nice relaxing time, and I’m ready for another short work week coming up with New Year’s at the end of the week. In the meantime, here’s my last book review of 2015. Starting with 2016, I’m going to do that reading challenge I mentioned a while ago, so I am hoping that I’ll have more variety to my reviews. (Part of the point of the challenge for me is to read more than just my standard genres.) But anyway, here’s today’s review:

207463831Jinn And Juice
by Nicole Peeler
narrated by Kara Bartell
(urban fantasy)

This book was amusing, and had been on my TBR list for a while. It’s the first in a series, as far as I can tell, but I’m really not sure that I’ll be picking up any of the rest of the books. It’s an amusing premise – in order to escape a horrid marriage, our protagonist Leila ended up getting accidentally turned into a jinni (genie) herself. Now, when the book starts, she has only a matter of days until her curse is over and she’s human again. However, she has to be free (aka have no master) when her time is up, and she gets bound to a master with the clock ticking, and has to convince him to set her free.

The premise was great. The characters were fun. However, in some cases they were plain stupid. I won’t give away the twist at the ending, but it was super obvious to me, the reader, and it’s hard for me to imagine that Leila could have lived as long as she did and still be naive enough to get herself caught in the situation that turns this from a stand-alone book into a series. Also, some of her friends should have been around the block enough times to see the twist coming, and one of them should have tried to prevent it before it happened.

Another thing that bugged me was how Leila spent most of the book fussing and complaining about how little time she had left and how much she wanted to be human again. I get that she wants this. It makes complete sense. But given everything else happening in the book, it seemed to me that she harped on it too much.

However, don’t get me wrong. I did enjoy the book. But I maybe my expectations were too high. Or maybe the author has different plans for the series than I was anticipating. In any case, I’d hoped for something that this book wasn’t. It was a fun diversion, though.

Leave a Reply

