Very Merry 2015 ~ Ramona

So, this is the first of many FO posts with objects that I haven’t been able to show you in WIP Weds posts, since the people receiving them might read the blog and I didn’t want to give anything away.

IMG_0514

This one is the Ramona Mini Hipster bag, a free pattern on the Swoon Sewing Patterns website. They have some awesome patterns! The free ones are good, and the paid ones are worth it! I have made several Swoon patterns now, and I haven’t had any difficulties understanding the patterns. And I always get compliments on the bags made from these patterns.

The first one of these was a birthday gift for my niece:

IMG_0515

Like many girls her age, she loved Frozen when it came out, so this fabric was a no-brainer.

The other bag was a birthday gift for my mom:

IMG_0516

Cinderella is one of her favorite Disney movies, so when I found this fabric, it seemed a good fit. (My favorite part of the fabric is, predictably, the mice. I don’t think I got a good photo of the mice, though, so you’ll have to take my word for it.)

I sewed up these bags as written, with two exceptions: 1. I only did the stripes on one side of the bag. I wanted the full design of the fabric to be visible somewhere, so I left the back of the bag un-striped. 2. I added pockets:

IMG_0518

I love pockets in bags, so I tend to add at least one if there aren’t any written in. (This particular one was easy enough. I cut out the size pocket I wanted, turned the edges under, top-stitched the top of the pocket, and then sewed the pocket down to the lining before sewing the lining pieces together. It also seemed like a good place for my “handmade by me” labels, so I stitched those on to the pocket piece before sewing it to the lining.)

Anyway, that’s the first of several gift FO posts for 2015! If you like the bag, remember that you can make your own (The link I added at the top of the post takes you directly to the pattern page.)

One thought on “Very Merry 2015 ~ Ramona

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- Really cute. I also have a bit of a fabric fixation.

Leave a Reply

