Friday Reads: a Challenge for 2016

I’m going to post something different for this week’s Friday Reads blog post. I’m not doing a book review this week: I’m posting a challenge for next year. (I think this particular challenge image was created for 2015, but since I didn’t do it this past year, I can do it next year without feeling like I’m repeating myself.)

I have done the 52 Books In 52 Weeks challenge many times before. It’s no longer a challenge for me to read a book a week – if it ever really was. So instead, I am doing this:

10433130_814285395276633_2895334478903589259_n.jpg

I need to broaden my reading horizons. Partly, I want to do this for my general benefit. I want to get out of my reading ruts, and I want to get a more varied look on current (and classic) literature. But also, I want to read more variety because it will be good for my writing.

To make it official, I’m going to say it here: I want 2016 to be the year I get back to being serious about my writing.

(This will probably mean I make fewer gifts in 2016. I can’t make ALL the things, and if I am making stories, I might not have time to make gifts. I am okay with that.)

But in any case, I am going to see how many books I can cross off this list in 2016. I am ALSO going to keep my 52 Books In 52 Weeks challenge going, but that is not the priority for this coming year.

What about you? Do you have any plans for reading in 2016?

Leave a Reply

