Ten on Tuesday ~ Fall Foods

The Ten on Tuesday topic for Tuesday, September 15, 2015 is 10 Foods You Are Looking Forward to Eating Now That Fall is (Almost) Here.

Have fun!

Well, I have to say, there aren’t a whole lot of foods (other than seasonal fruits and veggies) that I reserve for one season or another. For me, it’s mostly foods that other people offer/make which I consider seasonal. However, there are some foods which happen in a higher quantity in colder weather, so I guess I’ll include those as well.

(On the other hand, last week during our heat wave, I made a pot of soup for dinner. So I’m probably not the best judge of seasonal foods.)

  1. Pumpkin pie. (One of the few foods that is truly seasonal for me.)
  2. Moon cakes. (A Chinese dessert which is associate with Harvest time. Another truly seasonal food.)
  3. Oven-roasted chicken (or turkey) and gravy. (Not truly seasonal, but more common in the fall/winter.)
  4. Lots of soup.
  5. Chili. Preferably with cornbread topped with honey butter.
  6. Ramen!
  7. Also pho! (See? Lots of soup.)
  8. Anything cooked in the crockpot.
  9. Spiced cider. (Not really a food, since it’s a drink, but close enough.)
  10. Green bean casserole. (Again, not truly seasonal, but it’s a staple for our family holiday gatherings, and I start thinking about it once the weather turns colder.)

Great. Now I’m hungry.

One thought on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Fall Foods

  1. lorraine says:

    Nicole- I love Pho! But without the cilantro.

Leave a Reply

