Ten on Tuesday ~ Blueberries for me!

the Ten on Tuesday topic for 7/28/2015 is 10 Favorite Things To Do With Blueberries.
Have fun!

Yum, blueberries. You remember the picture book Blueberries for Sal, right? I do. At the time I read it, however, I was a little unclear on the difference between blueberries and blackberries. Possibly because where we lived, blackberry bushes could be found occasionally, but there weren’t any wild blueberries. Anyway, I love them both, but here are my favorite things (in no particular order) to do with blueberries. (Truth be told, though, I can happily do most of these with just about any kind of berry.)

  1. Bake them in scones. Yum!
  2. Eat them plain! They’re awesome as-is.
  3. Eat them over vanilla ice cream for dessert.
  4. Fruit salad!
  5. Bake them in muffins.
  6. Freeze them (preferably with a mix of other berries) and then blend them up for a quick, no-sugar-added ice cream substitute.
  7. Serve them with yogurt and granola for a home-made breakfast parfait.
  8. PANCAKES!
  9. Did I mention just grabbing a handful of them and eating them plain? Because that’s probably my favorite way to eat them.
  10. Mixed-in to ice cream (a la ColdStone). I haven’t found a commercial blueberry ice cream that I like yet, but that would be wonderful!

What about you? Any favorites I missed?

3 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday ~ Blueberries for me!

  1. Chris says:

    Plain as a snack. Blueberry pancakes and hot blueberry muffins are pretty great, too. So is the blueberry sorbet from Sebastian Joe’s, 1/2 block from where I live…

  2. Larry says:

    Try this sometime: Put a bowl of them in front of your 2-yr old nephew and see what happened!

  3. lorraine says:

    Nicole- Scones sounds wonderful. I like them in muffins and pancakes as well.

Leave a Reply

