Friday Reads: Books 2 and 3 of the Elfhome series

How about a dual book review today, since I’ve devoured this series too quickly for individual reviews? No complaints? Good. (Even if there are, tough. This is how I’m going to do it anyway.) I‘ll try to keep them from getting too long individually, so that this post as a whole doesn’t get too huge.

Wolf Who Rules: Elfhome #2
by Wen Spencer
(fantasy, futuristic urban fantasy, slight romance)

Book one of this series has only one POV character: Tinker, the title character. This second book has two POV characters, both Tinker and Wolf Who Rules, this book’s title character. It’s not at all confusing, in my mind; since Tinker’s world is expanding, it just worked to slowly get to see more of it than what she personally experiences. (Unlike a certain dystopian YA series I couldn’t finish, this switch worked. Probably in part because it’s not a first-person-present narrative.)

Anyway, about the book. This picks up right where the first one left off. It works well, since there is a distinct separation between book 2’s plot and the series arc. (It’s harder to see the difference in book 1, since that novel is setting up the whole series.) This novel’s plot focuses mostly on how the elves will deal with Pittsburgh now seeming to be a permanent part of Elfhome, and how they will manage both the human and oni threats. (The human threat is more of a long-term one, but there are certainly tensions ramping up between the humans and the elves.) To that end, a group of Stone Clan elves are called in to help the Wind Clan, and that causes all sorts of drama.

I really enjoyed reading more about the elven politics. And I enjoyed reading this one for myself (I listened to the audio book for book 1). While I enjoyed the narration for TINKER, I loved reading the elven words for myself. Having at one point started the language creation process for myself, it was really neat to see how the different endings were used to indicate gender, possession, and other little tweaks that are harder to distinguish when listening to the words. That could just be me geeking out over language creation, but that’s okay.

 Elfhome: Elfhome #3
by Wen Spencer
(fantasy, futuristic urban fantasy, slight romance)

In keeping with the POV expansion of the second book, this third installment has no shortage of POV characters. In addition to Tinker and Wolf, we also get POV from Oilcan and Tommy. (At a minimum. There may be others I’ve forgotten.) I have no problem with this, as it makes it more clear that this is not a romance series even though there are sex scenes. This is a fantasy series, and as such multiple narrators is a common thing.

And, as before, this picks up immediately after the events of book 2. (Spoiler alert: I know that there is a book 4, which does NOT start right after book 3 but instead catches up other characters to the “present” time. There is also a planned book 5, which DOES start right after book 3, because — as you will find out if you read this one — the book’s plot is nicely tied up, but the series plot is still wide open for more.)

I devoured this book. I started it Thursday morning, and had finished it by Friday night. And yes, both of those were work days, and I only read during my lunch breaks and once I’d returned home for the day. I found the action nicely spaced with dialogue and more introspection, but the book as a whole was so well paced that I didn’t want to put it down.

I am looking forward to the next installment — or at least, the next installment of the main plotline. I have read the blurb for book 4, and I’m not sure that it’s as interesting to me. I will probably read it, but I might see if my library has it before rushing out to buy it. Book 5, however, will be one I buy.

One thought on “Friday Reads: Books 2 and 3 of the Elfhome series

  1. Chris says:

    I don’t think I’ve even heard of this author before!

Leave a Reply

