Happy Wednesday!

Happy Hump Day!

Things have been crazy here in my personal life for lots of good reasons, but since all of these good reasons are non-Internet-security-friendly, suffice to say that I’ve been in a good mood for a while and have high hopes for continued good moods.

One of the things that has been making me happy lately and IS sharable is the Eurovision Song Contest. (If you don’t know what it is, you are probably not from Europe or Australia. And you should really look it up, because it can be highly amusing.) Anyway, the first semi-final was last night, and Mr. Wyrm and I had fun watching it. My favorite two contestants of the night advanced to Saturday’s Grand Final, so I’m happy about that, as well as just the fun of the contest.

But, as much fun as Eurovision is, that’s not why you come to my blog on a Wednesday. You come here for the knitting.

I have been doing a lot of it lately, and even have some photos to share. Here is a quick FO picture just as an update – I’ll get the FO blog posts for this project (and the other two I’ve done lately but don’t have pictures of yet) finished up as quickly as I can, but they’re sadly low on the list of “to do” items.  

That’s Scylla, knit from Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Silkie, colorway “Puck’s Mischief”. It was my plane knitting at the beginning of this spring, and has already been worn. May in California has been colder than we’re used to! Break out the handknits!

But anyway, one reason for finishing these socks was so I could start a new pair. I am one of the many people who say the Yarn Harlot talk about Dark Side Of The Moon yarn and had to buy it. (I’m not a huge Pink Floyd fan, but Mr. Wyrm likes that album, and I do love astronomy and the colorway, so… And besides, the dyer knows how knitters can be about socks. This yarn comes in one skein split into two evenly matched halves, so that you can wind up two balls of yarn and know that the stripes will match. Hooray! OCD socks without the work/hassle/stress!)  

I’m enjoying knitting these. There’s something about a plain vanilla sock which is so relaxing, more so than anything else. Of course, I’m not doing a completely vanilla sock for these. I’m using the Double Gusset on Bottom Toe Up Sock pattern by Carrie Ramirez, adapted from TurtleGirl’s top-down version. I love the way the top-down version fits, so I’m hoping that this version is just as comfy.

Anyway, enjoy the rest of your week!

One thought on “Happy Wednesday!

  1. Chris says:

    The Scylla socks are gorgeous! And how cool about how that Dark Side of the Moon yarn is prepped for knitting identical socks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

