FO: Cats Will Play

Today we’re going to have knitting on Tuesday! A bit different, I know, but I wanted to show off my latest finished shawl. (And I can’t wait until Friday because I have a book review scheduled.)

This is the “Cats Will Play” shawl, or at least most of it. I knit it out of a handspun yarn I made for last year’s Tour De Fleece, so I only had a limited amount of yarn. It ended up being plenty of yarn to make a nice shawlette, but not enough to make the shawl full-size. (There’s supposed to be one more cat’s pay lace section, followed by a final garter stitch edging.)

Still, I’m quite happy with the way it turned out. The pattern is interesting enough to add texture and interest without detracting from the lovely handspun yarn. It was a fun pattern to make as well. I could see myself making another shawl (full-size) with commercial yarn to see what the difference is with something more uniform than my personal handspun. (I’ve gotten better at creating an even yarn, but it’s still not machine-perfect, which I am glad of.)

The fiber I spun the yarn from was from Kitty Mine Crafts’ etsy shop. It’s called “Cloudy With A Chance Of Color,” and it was so much fun to spin. The fiber was white wool with colored banana silk mixed in, and it spun up effortlessly (except when I tried to make the colored bits follow any kind of order. I gave up on that pretty quickly and just let it do what it wanted to do). And it’s SO SOFT! I love this stuff, and am happy to report that there is more Kitty Mine Crafts fiber waiting for this year’s Tour, or whenever I bring the spinning wheel downstairs to play with.

Other than the size difference, I didn’t make any mods to this pattern. No need! It was easy enough to follow, and the shape of the shawl ended up a nice crescent shape as written.

SPECS:

PATTERN: Cats Will Play
DESIGNER: Jaala Spiro
YARN: my handspun, fiber was “Cloudy With A Chance Of Color” by Kitty Mine Crafts
NEEDLES: US 7 (4.5 mm)
START/END DATES: August 5, 2014 – February 15, 2015
MODS: none except making it shorter to fit the amount of yarn

5 thoughts on “FO: Cats Will Play

  1. Chris says:

    Pretty! That yarn/fiber name is absolutely perfect for that color. 🙂

  2. Beautiful. Love the colors.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Nicole- Gorgeous, and in handspun, doubly gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

