Two More Christmas 2014 Knits

Remember when I said last week that I had too many Christmas FOs from 2014 to show them all in individual posts? Well, we’re going to do another two-fer today.

First up is the shawl I made for my Grandmother:

Canyonlands Shawl

This one was like working two separate projects. you knit a basic stockinette shawl, and then you knit the intricate edging on for the cast-off. I thought I was doing great on time, until I realized just how long the edging was going to take. Oops. It is estimated to take half of the yarn in the shawl, so I should have expected it to take half of the knitting time, too. I just didn’t think about it.

Anyway, the pattern is well written. And the lace edging isn’t that difficult even though there’s lace on both sides. It is, however, detailed and you have to pay attention to it. If you don’t… well, let’s just say I did some tinking to make sure I had the edging pattern right.

I used Chroma for this shawl, and I loved the way the color changes turned out. I think it was a perfect yarn for this pattern. My grandma loves it, too.

SPECS (and a link to my Ravelry project page):

PATTERN: Canyonlands Shawl
DESIGNER: verybusymonkey
YARN: KnitPicks Chroma Fingering in Seaweed
NEEDLES: US 6 (4.0 mm)
START/END DATES: November 27 – December 21, 2014
MODS: none

Next up is the pair of mitts that I made for my dad:

Raw Honey Mitts

I bought this Capra yarn a while ago, with the intent that they would be mitts. And wow, this is the perfect yarn for mitts! The cashmere content makes it really soft, but the wool gives it a nice firm fabric and stability. So lovely to knit with, and to wear. (Just trying them on made me want to keep them for myself. I’ll have to get more Capra.)

The pattern is well-written, but it’s deceptive. It’s simple enough to memorize easily. And then you don’t pay attention, because you think you’ve got it. And then you realize that you’ve put the purls in the wrong places and you have to go back and fix it.

SPECS (and a link to my Ravelry project page):

PATTERN: Raw Honey
DESIGNER: Alicia Plummer
YARN: KnitPicks Capra DK in Burnished
NEEDLES: US 6 (4.0 mm) and US 7 (4.5 mm)
START/END DATES: September 27 – November 29, 2014
MODS: none?

One thought on “Two More Christmas 2014 Knits

  1. Chris says:

    Both turned out great! The mitts sound pretty yummy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

