Christmas FO Two-Fer

I’m going to post two of my Christmas 2014 knitted gifts in this one post, because:

  1. There are so many of them that it will take forever at this rate; and
  2. I didn’t take many pictures of these two knits.

The first one is:

 Man Hands Mitts for my BIL

These mitts were a last-minute knitted gift that I made when I realized that I had a handmade gift for nearly all of my family members, and wanted to make it ALL of them. Also, I had my brother-in-law try on the mitts I was making for my dad (to test the size), and his (BIL) reaction was such that I realized he wanted them for himself. Well, instead of giving him the ones I made for my dad, I made him his own pair.

(an in-progress picture… one of the few I took of this project… and those are Jamberry nail wraps for anyone who wonders)

I made him the first free mitts I found in my Ravelry queue that looked appropriate, and I used the softest yarn I could find in my stash of the correct size. It happened to be a hand-spun yarn that I hadn’t been able to decide what to do with, and I think the result was great. Also, I really enjoyed making these mitts, so I will be almost certainly making another pair in the not-too-distant future. (Maybe for me, since they’re not really a gender-specific mitt regardless of the pattern name.)

My only complaint about the pattern was something I had before I tried them on: you bind off the thumb instead of placing the stitches on waste yarn and adding more later. I thought the thumb wouldn’t be long enough, but it was. And it was much more comfortable than I’d expected. So it was a complaint that I shouldn’t have had, because the designer knew what she was doing and I was pre-judging. Now I know better!

SPECS (and a link to my Ravelry project page):

PATTERN: Man Hands DESIGNER: Shireen Nadir YARN: handspun by me, merino roving from Bonkers (no link found to the dyer) in the Emerald Forest colorway NEEDLES: US 6 (4.0 mm) START/END DATES: December 3 – 15, 2014 MODS: none The second project for today is:

Miss Fanny The Fabulous Fox for my nephew

I won this kit from one of the Yarn Harlot’s karmic balancing gifts from her 2013 (I think) bike rally, and I finally got around to making this fox for my nephew. I’d meant to make it for his first Christmas, but instead it was a gift for his second.

This kit contains wool “hand dyed with walnut + cosmos flowers”. Very cool. The pattern was straightforward enough for a knitted toy. (They’re all a bit fiddley, in my opinion, but this one wasn’t any more so than most.) My biggest issue with this one is that I hate knitting tight things at a small gauge. I always feel like I’m going to snap my needles in half as I’m knitting. (Doesn’t help that I did this with socks once. I haven’t done it since, but I always fear doing it.) The yarn was very nice to work with. I would have enjoyed doing colorwork with it, had the pattern called for that. (Technically, there’s a tiny section of the tail that is colorwork, but that only served to prove to me that I would have enjoyed a larger colorwork project in this yarn.) The pattern was also pretty easy to understand, with the exception being that there were a couple of things I tried to over-think. Once I figured out that I was going about things the hard way, and backtracked and did them the correct way for this pattern, it went much more smoothly. Also, it was my first time double knitting. That was fun, and it was written in an easy enough way for a double knitting newbie to understand.

SPECS (and a link to my Ravelry project page): PATTERN: Miss Fanny The Fabulous Fox DESIGNER: Mary Jo Martinek YARN: not sure… it came with the kit NEEDLES: US 0 (2.0 mm) START/END DATES: August 3 – December 24, 2014 (yup, this was my final present finished) MODS: Because it’s for a 1 1/2 year-old, I embroidered the eyes instead of using the included buttons. I also didn’t put the gingerbread man button in the pocket for the same reason.

2 thoughts on “Christmas FO Two-Fer

  1. Larry says:

    I bet that your father really likes those mitts that you made for him. I bet that they are really soft and warm and comfortable. I bet that he wears them every morning when he gets up and the house is still cold.
    Yup, I bet he does!!!

  2. Chris says:

    That fox is just too cute.

Leave a Reply

