Ten On Tuesday ~ In The Bleak Midwinter

The Ten On Tuesday prompt for 1/13/15 is 10 Things You Do To Make Winter Less Bleak.

Well, in my part of California, it doesn’t get that bleak. But even so, there are some things that I do in winter which help my happiness levels. I guess that’s what this prompt is really asking…

1. I knit with happy colored yarn.

2. I spend lots of time curled up with a book and a cup of tea.

3. Two words: Disney trips. (Disneyland is pretty in the rain, too. And the crowds tend to get scared away.)

4. Soup! Lots of soup.

5. I also pull out the crock pot more in winter than summer. The smell of food cooking all day long just seems more appropriate in this weather.

6. Spiced cider.

7. Bake! Cookies, scones, whatever.

(Gee, a lot of these are food-related…)

8. Bask in the sun with the cat, when there is sun in which to bask.

9. Cuddle on the couch (or the bed) with the cat, when there is no sun in which to bask.

10. Sleep in. (Usually only on weekends, naturally.) Gray mornings are made for rising late.

What about you? Any tips to keep your spirits up in the winter?

8 thoughts on “Ten On Tuesday ~ In The Bleak Midwinter

  1. meganb1977 says:

    I’m with you on most of that! 🙂

  2. Donna says:

    Spiced cider is one of my favorites! And knitting with happy colors is great for me during the winter.

  3. Bonny says:

    Even though I’m on the opposite coast, we have many items on your list in common (except for Disney). Great winter activities!

  4. Larry says:

    One thing I used to do, but haven’t in a looong time, is drive to Yosemite. In the snow. In the convertible. With the top down.
    I need to do that again! But I no longer have a convertible.

  5. Paula Kaye says:

    Yum spiced cider. Dropping by from Ten on Tuesday

    http://smidgensbitsandsnippets.blogspot.com/

  6. Kwizgiver says:

    Love your list. Going to Disney would be a major production for me, though, since I’m in Northern Maine. 🙂 A trip to the Happiest Place On Earth would definitely bust the winter blues!

  7. Well, if you are challenged in California, try Sin City, LOL. But boy do I miss the mornings curled up in a chair by the fireplace with a good book and cuppa tea!

  8. Chris says:

    Wear crazily colored socks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

