Mom’s Christmas Socks

I’ve mentioned before that my mom likes handknit socks. And so I make her socks:

These particular ones I started with no purpose in mind other than to cast on something that was not a Christmas present. (I was a bit sick of knitting for others at that point.) And then I realized that they were going to be a present anyway.

I used Cat Bordhi’s “Seeds In The Heart Of Winter” pattern as a base, but all I really used it for was the basic instructions in how to knit her Sweet Tomato Heel. I didn’t use the stitch count, because I purchased the pattern not realizing that it was for the completely wrong weight yarn for what I wanted. I didn’t use her heart patterning, because I wanted to do my own slipped stitch thing. I just used her heel and toe numbers (modified for my stitch count).

I mostly enjoyed the heel, though I’m not sure how it will wear, since the socks weren’t made strictly to my size. (I can wear socks I make for my mom, but the fit is different than when I make socks for myself.) I think my favorite heel is still the traditional heel flap heel, though I do rather like moving the gusset to the bottom of the foot. And the double gusset that I tried makes a nice fit.

But I’m getting off track. The yarn for these socks is one that a member of my SnB named, and then Tina of Blue Moon Fiber Arts created a yarn colorway to go with that name. I really like the way it turned out. And being Socks That Rock, the knitting process for these socks was marvelous. (I really love that yarn base. And the Blue Moon dyers.)

SPECS (and a link to my Ravelry project page):

PATTERN: Seeds In The Heart Of Winter (kinda)
DESIGNER: Cat Bordhi
YARN: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock lightweight in As High As An Elephant’s Eye
NEEDLES: US 1 1/2 (2.5 mm)
START/END DATES: October 11 – November 28, 2014
MODS: Lots. See above.

One thought on “Mom’s Christmas Socks

  1. Chris says:

    Nice summery socks!
    I’m a big fan of the heel flap heel, too. In the singular pair of top-down socks I’ve ever done, I was really confused about heel flap construction, which is wildly different than for toe-up.

Leave a Reply

