Safari Scarf FO

Look, a finished object that has been finished for quite some time now, but has only just been delivered to its owner! That means now you guys can see it!

This is the Safari Scarf that I was knitting over the (late) summer for my father-in-law. I’d been meaning to knit the Chevron Scarf pattern for a while, and this was when I finally got around to it. This was a fast knit, too! Since the pattern was dead simple to memorize once you got it established (it’s easy to read from the knitting itself) I didn’t need to bring anything with me except my yarn and needles. No pattern needed, which made it great vacation knitting.

When I decided to use this yarn for this project, I was afraid that it would stripe or pool unattractively. But it didn’t! I love the way the color turned out. (That’s my only complaint with using Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock for socks – sometimes the striping or pooling is just not pretty.) I still love the feel of this yarn as much as I ever have, so I’m thinking that I’ll need to look for some solids or semi-solids to use for socks so that I can enjoy using the yarn without being annoyed at the pooling.

But that’s neither here nor there about this scarf. I did made a few mods to it, mostly in order to give the scarf a garter stitch border all the way around. (Details of the modifications are below.)

I really did enjoy knitting this one, and though it could have happily been a little longer, I think it turned out long enough. (Blocking helped on that front.) The fabric of the piece also came out nice after blocking. It’s a nice weight. Merry Christmas to my FIL!

STATS (and a link to my Ravelry project page)

PATTERN: Chevron Scarf
DESIGNER: Brenda of Molecular Knitting
YARN: Shepherd Sock Multi by Lorna’s Laces in the “Safari” colorway
NEEDLES: US 3 (3.25 mm)
START – END DATES: August 19, 2014 – September 18, 2014

MODS:

  1. The pattern calls for 1 garter stitch on each side of the chevron pattern, but I did 4 stitches per side. Therefore I cast on 53 stitches instead of the 47 called for.
  2. I knit 5 rows of garter stitch before starting the chevron pattern. (AKA cast on, then knit 5 rows, then start pattern.)
  3. This also means I ended with 5 more rows of garter stitch. (AKA knit 5 rows, then bind off knitwise.)
  4. In the pattern section, I replaced the “sl1, k1, psso” with “k2tog tbl”.
2 thoughts on “Safari Scarf FO

  1. Chris says:

    That turned out really cool!

  2. That scarf is wonderful. And far from being a pooling disaster, the colour shifts accentuate the stitch pattern beautifully. I hope FIL was grateful?

Leave a Reply

